Thursday, December 13, 2012

Still Lolo by Lauren Scruggs

About the Book:

In December 2011, Lauren (“LoLo”) Scruggs, a 23-year-old fashion journalist, suffered a sudden injury that made headlines around the world. She had been on a short flight to look at Christmas lights and, upon exiting the small plane, was hit by the still-moving propeller blade. A frantic 911 call, several major surgeries, and thousands of prayers later: Lauren lived. But she lost her left hand and left eye. And she had to face some incredibly difficult questions: What kind of future will I have? Where is God in all this pain? Will anyone ever be able to love me now? In Still LoLo, Lauren speaks out for the first time since her accident. She and her family reveal what really happened that night, what Lauren’s life is like today, what got them through their journey toward healing, and how they conquered all odds to persevere as a family. It’s a compelling and fiercely beautiful story of faith, determination, and staying true to who you are—no matter what.

My Review:

4 Stars

What an inspiring story that is written from the heart. I found this to be a fast read that was uplifting and encouraging without being preachy. I absolutely loved how it is written from not only the view point of Lauren but also from her family and it doesn't just deal with the accident and how she handled it, it also told the story of her and her twin growing up and how it shaped her to be who she is today. Without her past, the way she handled the accident may have been totally different. I loved how the message is that Lauren is still the same person even if physically she has some scars and challenges to overcome. At the end of the day what makes Lauren Lauren is still the same.

This is a short, a little over 200 pages read that so many people could love and be inspired by. This book will make you want to meet her and hear her story right from her own mouth. I highly recommend this book to everyone who like a good memoir/biography type book and wants to be encouraged that God uses you just as you are and He uses your trials to help others. 

*I received this book from Tyndale for the purpose of this review.

More info on the book:

Click here for access to the first chapter!










Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden

About the Book:

After a childhood rampant with uncertainty, Lydia Pallas has carved out a perfect life for herself. She spends her days within sight of the bustling Boston Harbor, where her skill with languages has landed her an enviable position as a translator for the U.S. Navy.

Lydia's talents bring her to the attention of Alexander Banebridge, a mysterious man in need of a translator. Driven by a campaign to end the opium trade, Bane is coolly analytical and relentless in his quest. He cannot afford to fall for Lydia and must fight the bittersweet love growing between them.

When Bane's enemies gain the upper hand, he is forced to turn to Lydia for help. Determined to prove her worth, Lydia soon discovers that carrying out Bane's mission will test her wits and her courage to the very limits.

When forces conspire against them from without and within, can their love survive? 

My Review:

5 Stars

I first have to say that I absolutely love Elizabeth Camden's books and anxiously look forward to her next one. She has easily become one of my favorite authors and her books keep getting better and better. Against the Tide is her third book but it brings back a much loved(at least by the end) character from her first book, The Lady of Bolton Hill. It was so much to see where his story would lead and see him as the hero of the book. By the way, you don't have to read the first book but it will give you a better understanding of Bane and the world he came from.

I really loved Lydia in this book and her talent at learning languages. The ability to learn a new language is definitely a talent and one that can give you unique jobs and put you in interesting situations  All of this Lydia faced and was how she crossed paths with Bane in the first place.  Lydia is such a sweet person that has had a rough road as a child and even to a point as an adult but it does not stop her from wanting to achieve happiness,security and success. I also really enjoyed the faith side of this story because it took the perspective of the hero leading the heroine to Christ and not the other way around (which seems more common).

In conclusion, I highly, highly recommend this book to everyone and also her other two books. You won't be sorry nor will you find it a waste of time. Instead you will be swept into these awesome romance stories that you won't want to put down and will be sad when they end. I know I can't wait till her next release.

*I received this book from the author for the purpose of this review. Thank You!

Lovelier than Daylight by Rosslyn Elliott

About the Book:

Susanna is a lady of principles who values family above all. Johann seems to represent all she despises . . . but appearances can be deceiving.

In 1875, Susanna Hanby is headed off to college in Westerville, Ohio, when she discovers her sister Rachel and Rachel’s children have disappeared. Susanna suspects that Rachel’s alcoholic husband knows more than he’s saying and she vows to uncover the truth.

Johann Giere is heir to a successful German-American brewery in Columbus, but longs for a career in journalism in New York City. When Johann signs on as the supplier for a new saloon in Westerville, his and Susanna’s paths cross and sparks fly. A fiery temperance crusader, Susanna despises Johann’s profession, but she cannot deny the attraction.

When Susanna learns that Rachel’s children have been indentured to orphanages in the city, she despairs that her family will be fractured forever. But Johann makes Susanna an offer she can’t refuse—pitting her passion and her principles against one another.

If she can find a way for her head and her heart to be in harmony, a future lovelier than daylight awaits her.

Lovelier than Daylight is a story of love and faith based on the Westerville Whiskey War of 1875, a dramatic real historical event featured in the 2011 documentary Prohibition by Ken Burns.

My Review:

5 Stars

Wow, what a great ending to Rosslyn Elliott's Saddler's Legacy trilogy. I think this may have been my favorite in the series or at least tied with book 1, Fairer Than Morning. While technically I think you could read this book without reading the other ones, I am not sure I can recommend that only because all the books are so good and should be read.

I really loved the characters in this book and how they handled the situations they were faced with. It was fun watching Susanna and Johann interact because while they had similar passions there was one thing that stood between them and it was fun to see how they would overcome the issue. I found Susanna courageous and daring in ways with her determination to find Rachel and get her children out of the orphanages. I found this book made me think alot of what would I do if I was in her shoes, and boy it wouldn't be easy.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves historical romance, especially the kind set around real historic events. This one is fun because it deals with a tiny part of history in the state of Ohio that many,many people probably have never heard of. 

Great job, Rosslyn on another fantastic book!

*I received this book from booksneeze.com for the purpose of this review. Thank you!


Saturday, November 24, 2012

Christmas Roses by Amanda Cabot

About the Book:

Celia Anderson doesn't need anything for Christmas except a few more boarders, which are hard to come by in this small mining town. She certainly doesn't have a husband on her Christmas wish list. But when a wandering carpenter finds lodging at her boarding house, she admits that she might remarry if she found the right man--the kind of man who would bring her roses for Christmas. It would take a miracle to get roses during a harsh Wyoming winter. But Christmas, after all, is the time for miracles . . .

My Review: 

4 Stars

What a sweet and fun Christmas novella! I have loved everything Amanda Cabot has written and her first Christmas novella is just as good.  I generally do not read alot of Christmas stories since I find them to be all rather similar, but this one stands out to me and I highly recommend it to everyone to read this Christmas season.

*I received this book from Revell for the purpose of this review.

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Change of Fortune by Jen Turano

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
A Change of Fortune
Bethany House Publishers (November 1, 2012)
by
Jen Turano


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Jen grew up in the small town of St. Clairsville, Ohio, where she spent an idyllic childhood riding her purple spider bike, ice-skating on a little pond and reading Nancy Drew and Trixie Beldon books in her tree house. High School was, surprisingly enough, fabulous as Jen spent time with her girlfriends. She headed off to college with no idea of what she wanted to be when she grew up, but settled on pursuing a career in fashion because she thought it sounded glamorous. Her parents thought she’d lost her mind, but they resigned themselves to her choice and after earning a BA degree in Clothing and Textiles, Jen set off to take the fashion world by storm, only to discover retail was certainly not the glamorous career she’d imagined it would be. She moved to Buffalo, New York to take a job in the buying office of a large department store, learning all there was to know about cookware, which again, was hardly glamorous, especially to a girl who did not have a knack for cooking. She met her future husband, Al, a few months after taking this job and eight months later, they were married. After moving into management at another department store and working that for a few years, the company went out of business and Jen decided she’d had enough. One year later her son was born and Jen hung up her heels for good and concentrated on being a mom.

She began dabbling in writing when her son, then in elementary school, said he liked her made up stories as much as those in his books. It was then that she fired up the computer and never looked back.

Jen loves to write humorous stories with quirky characters and a dash of intrigue and finds historical romances especially appealing, seeing as how she’s been reading them since she was a teenager. Her mother gave her a copy of Kathleen Woodiwiss, The Flame and the Flower, and Jen was hooked on the genre. When not reading romance, she loves to read mysteries, young adult and her favorite series of all time, Harry Potter.

Besides writing, Jen enjoys spending time with her family and friends.



ABOUT THE BOOK

Lady Eliza Sumner is on a mission. Her fortune was the last thing she had left after losing her father, her fiance, and her faith. Now, masquerading as Miss Eliza Sumner governess-at-large, she's determined to find the man who ran off with her fortune, reclaim the money, and head straight back to London.

Mr. Hamilton Beckett, much to his chagrin, is the catch of the season, and all the eyes of New York society--all the female ones, at least--are on him. He has no plans to marry again, especially since his hands are full keeping his business afloat while raising his two children alone.

Eliza's hapless attempts to regain her fortune unexpectedly put her right in Hamilton's path. The discovery of a common nemesis causes them to join forces and, before she knows it, Eliza has a whole retinue of people helping her. Eliza's determination not to trust anyone weakens when everyone's antics and bumbling efforts to assist her make her wonder if there might be more important things than her fortune and independence.

When all of Hamilton's and Eliza's best-laid plans fall by the wayside, it will take a riot of complications for them to realize that God just might have had a better plan in mind all along.

If you would like to read the first chapter of A Change of Fortune, go HERE.

Saturday, November 10, 2012

Placebo by Steven James

About the Book:

While covertly investigating a controversial neurological research program, exposé filmmaker Jevin Banks is drawn into a far-reaching conspiracy involving one of the world's largest pharmaceutical firms. After giving up his career as an escape artist and illusionist in the wake of his wife and sons' tragic death, Jevin is seeking not only answers about the questionable mind-to-mind communication program, but also answers to why his family suffered as they did.

Rooted in ground-breaking science and inspired by actual research, Placebo explores the far reaches of science, consciousness, and faith. Readers will love this taut, intelligent, and emotionally gripping new thriller from master storyteller Steven James.

 My Review:

5 Stars

When I first picked up this book I expected a normal suspense novel where you have a detective trying to figure out exactly what is going on.  While at its core that’s what this book is I found some of the twists with the characters very interesting,  I mean who has heard of a ex-magician going around and debunking people’s schemes.  The side characters in this book were well developed and very interesting I think the author did a good job at introducing them and I look forward to reading more about them in future works. The progression of the main character made you feel like you were working through his issues with him.  I also found that the book did keep me guessing as to who the real bad guy is and what the real plan was.  The author also did a good job leaving the ending of the book open for another book in the series and while they did give you some closure I would have liked to know exactly what happened to his wife and kids but I guess that just means I will have to pick up the next book in this series when it comes out! 

* I received this book through Revell for the purpose of this review.

Wednesday, November 7, 2012

The Breath of Dawn by Kristen Heitzman

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
The Breath of Dawn
Bethany House Publishers (November 1, 2012)
by
Kristen Heitzmann


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

From the time my dad taught me to read at sit-on-the-floor school when I was four—launching me past kindergarten into 1st grade—I have loved learning and expressing what I know through art, music, and especially writing. Education came easily, and I grew accustomed to having my work read and displayed. But breaking out of the family mold, I left college to marry my husband Jim (celebrating our 29th this year.) Since then, life and all kinds of research have provided the grist for my stories. We have three awesome adult kids, and one incredible teenager. (You might think I’m biased, but ask anyone who knows them.)

While home schooling my four kids, I wrote my first novel. I pitched it for publication, and it became the first of a five book historical series. Since then, I have written three more historical novels and nine contemporaries. The Still of Night was nominated for the Colorado Book Award. The Tender Vine was a Christy Award finalist and Secrets won a Christy in 2005.

People often ask why I started writing, and I say to get the stories out of my head. Some say they’d like to write a book, but I say if you’re not wracked with labor pains, there are easier ways to express yourself. Being a writer is a solitary, eccentric, and often compulsive path. But I wouldn’t trade it for anything.



ABOUT THE BOOK

Kristen Heitzmann Delivers Powerful New Romantic Suspense

Morgan Spencer has had just about all he can take of life. Following the tragic death of his wife, Jill, he retreats to his brother's Rocky Mountain ranch to heal and focus on the care of his infant daughter, Olivia. Two years later, Morgan begins to make plans to return to his home in Santa Barbara to pick up the pieces of his life and career.

Quinn Riley has been avoiding her past for four years. Standing up for the truth has forced her into a life of fear and isolation. After a "chance" first meeting and a Thanksgiving snowstorm, Quinn is drawn into the Spencer family's warm and loving world, and she begins to believe she might find freedom in their friendship.

The man Quinn helped put behind bars has recently been released, however, and she fears her past will endanger the entire Spencer family. As the danger heightens, she determines to leave town for the sake of the people who have come to mean so much to her.

Fixing problems is what Morgan Spencer does best, and he is not willing to let Quinn run away, possibly into the clutches of a man bent on revenge. But Morgan's solution sends him and Quinn on an unexpected path, with repercussions neither could have anticipated.

If you would like to read the first chapter of The Breath of Dawn, go HERE.

Thursday, November 1, 2012

A Promise to Love by Serena B. Miller

About the Book:

Can a marriage of convenience ever become one of true love?

Ingrid Larsen arrives in Michigan in 1871 with little more than the clothes on her back and a determination to find her brother, who has disappeared into the dangerous lumber camps. Destitute and barely hanging on to hope, the young Swedish immigrant crosses paths with Joshua Hunter, a newly widowed farmer with eyes the color of the ocean she had crossed and five rambunctious children to raise on his own.

Marriage would solve both of their problems, and Ingrid finds herself proposing in broken English to a man she barely knows. Many difficulties lie ahead--but the hardest battle of all will be winning the heart of her new husband.

My Review:

4.5 Stars

I have come to the conclusion that Serena B Miller books are just plain awesome. I have enjoyed every one I have read and find myself greatly looking forward to another one. I love how she writes in more than one setting, but I will say the logging setting is very interesting to me. Partially since I didn't know that much about it and it is not a setting that is written in as much.

I really liked Ingrid in this book, she did a bold and courageous move offering to marry Joshua Hunter so he wouldn't lose his kids. The crazy part was that throughout the whole book she kept making bold moves. She was not afraid and always tried to what is right. I couldn't imagine making the decisions that she did and in many ways thankful I do not have to.

I highly recommend this book to everyone that loves a good historical romance based on some real history. Serena really does her research and makes the setting the come to life.

* I received this book from Revell Books for the purpose of this review. Thank you!




Monday, October 29, 2012

A Farmer's Daughter by Dawn Stoltzfus

About the Book:

Over 200 mouthwatering recipes--fresh from the farm

I'm Dawn Stoltzfus. Welcome to my kitchen! I was raised on a Mennonite farm where simple, wholesome food was a key ingredient of the good life. Now I'm opening up my recipe box, wiping away the crumbs and wrinkles from the well-loved recipe cards, and sharing them with you. From Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls and Strawberry Shortcake to Old-Fashioned Beef Stew and Chicken and Herb Dumplings, all the best comfort foods I learned to cook from my mother are here, along with some dishes that may surprise you!

In addition to the simple, wholesome recipes for starters, main dishes, sides, and desserts, I share favorite stories from my Mennonite upbringing, tips and tricks for easy meal planning and preparation, and ideas for serving with flair.

If you enjoy feeding your family hearty, wholesome meals made with fresh ingredients and lots of love, please join me in the kitchen! 
 My Review:
 5 Stars
 I love, love, love this cookbook. This is one my my new favorite cookbooks. There are so many recipes I want to try in it, that it can be hard to decide which one to do next. I have tried three recipes so far with many more flagged to try in the future. My favorite so far was the Chicken and Herb Dumplings. This dish was so delicious and made great leftovers, it had a great balance of veggies and chicken. The flavor was so good that it is hard to stop eating.
So many times I am disappointed in cookbooks. Either the recipes don't come out good or they are made of simply dumping cans together or using a box mix and adding something to it. When I want to cook I want to cook a real meal and this cookbook is great for that person. It is full of recipes that use fresh ingredients and are simple enough for the busy person or the new cook. I loved all the little notes the author includes which range from tips on making the dish or where the meal came from.
If you are tired of the same old cookbooks and want something fresh make sure you pick up this great cookbook. The only downside I can even come up with is there is no pictures, but everything else is so great that you will hardly care in the end.
 *I received this book from Revell books for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

A Wreath of Snow by Liz Curtis Higgs

About the Book:

All Margaret Campbell wants for Christmas is a safe journey home. When her plans for a festive holiday with her family in Stirling crumble beneath the weight of her brother’s bitterness, the young schoolteacher wants nothing more than to return to the students she loves and the town house she calls home.

Then an unexpected detour places her in the path of Gordon Shaw, a handsome newspaperman from Glasgow, who struggles under a burden of remorse and shame.

When the secret of their shared history is revealed, will it leave them tangled in a knot of regret? Or might their past hold the threads that will bind their future together?

As warm as a woolen scarf on a cold winter’s eve, A Wreath of Snow is a tender story of love and forgiveness, wrapped in a celebration of all things Scottish, all things Victorian, and, especially, all things Christmas.

My Review:

4 Stars

To start of with I just have to comment on how lovely this book looks. The cover is breathtaking, the fact that it is hardcover makes it so much better. This is on of those books that is great to read but also would make a great decoration for Christmas time. I received this book this afternoon and quickly jumped right into it. I was drawn in the setting, which is described in such wonderful detail, and the story so quickly that I knew I would finish it this evening . This is a short Christmas novella that will be cherished by many. I loved the the theme of forgiveness, both giving it and receiving it, and the sweet subtle romance that starts to bud at the end. In conclusion, this is a sweet story that will warm you heart during this Christmas season and many to come.

* I received this book through Blogging for Books for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

Friday, October 26, 2012

A Light in the Window by Julie Lessman

About the Book:

One Woman. Two Men.
One stirs her pulse and the other her faith.
But who will win her heart?

Marceline Murphy is a gentle beauty with a well-founded aversion to rogues. But when two of Boston's most notorious pursue her, she encounters a tug-of-war of the heart she isn’t expecting. Sam O’Rourke is the childhood hero she’s pined for, the brother of her best friend and a member of the large, boisterous family to which she longs to be a part. So when his best friend Patrick O’Connor joins in pursuit of her affections, the choice seems all too clear. Sam is from a family of faith and Patrick is not, two rogues whose wild ways clash head-on with Marcy’s—both in her faith and in her heart.

While overseeing the Christmas play fundraiser for the St. Mary’s parish soup kitchen—A Light in the Window—Marcy not only wrestles with her attraction to both men, but with her concern for their spiritual welfare. The play is based on the Irish custom of placing a candle in the window on Christmas Eve to welcome the Holy Family, and for Marcy, its message becomes deeply personal. Her grandmother Mima cautions her to guard her heart for the type of man who will respond to the "light in the window," meaning the message of Christ in her heart. But when disaster strikes during the play, Marcy is destined to discover the truth of the play’s message first-hand when it becomes clear that although two men have professed their undying love, only one has truly responded to “the light in the window.”






My Review:

5 Stars

What a great prequel to six fantastic books. A Light in the Window takes place years before A Passion most Pure and shares with us how Marcy and Patrick. I loved this book just as much as the rest of Julie's books. It was much shorter, sweeter and simple but still the book was filled with drama, romance and a great message. I love how Julie weaves into each of her stories a message about God and what he wants from us. Many of the times it is something that I or someone I know needs to hear and take to heart.

I greatly enjoyed watching Marcy deal with her feelings about Sam and Patrick and watching them fight over her. Even with knowing who she would end up with the journey to get there was worth every page. I absolutely loved the epilogue and it made me want for more and hear about the early years of their marriage. I personally do not think there could be enough books written about the wonderful and passionate O'Connor family.

This is a great book for those new to Julie's books and a great way to begin the journey with the wonderful O'Connors. For those that have read all her books, it makes a great prequel.

* I received a PDF copy of this book from the author for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

The Bridge by Karen Kingsbury + Giveaway

About the Book:

Number one New York Times bestselling author Karen Kingsbury delivers an instant classic with this heartwarming Christmas story about a hundred-year flood, lost love, and the beauty of enduring friendships.

Molly Allen lives alone in Portland, but she left her heart back in Tennessee with a man she walked away from five years ago. They had a rare sort of love she hasn’t found since.

Ryan Kelly lives in Nashville after a broken engagement and several years on the road touring with a country music duo. He can still hear Molly’s voice encouraging him to follow his dreams; Molly, whose memory stays with him. At least he can visit The Bridge—the oldest bookstore in historic downtown Franklin—and remember the hours he and Molly once spent there.

For thirty years, Charlie and Donna Barton have run The Bridge, providing the people of middle Tennessee with coffee, conversation, and shelves of good books—even through dismal book sales and the rise of digital books. Then in May, the hundred-year flood swept through Franklin and destroyed nearly every book in the store.

 Now the bank is pulling the lease on The Bridge. Despondent and without answers, Charlie considers the unthinkable. Then tragedy strikes, and suddenly, everything changes. In the face of desperate brokenness and lost opportunities, could the miracle of a second chance actually unfold?

The Bridge is a love story set against the struggle of the American bookstore, a love story you will never forget.

My Review:

4 Stars

What a sweet and simple Christmas book from beloved bestseller Karen Kingsbury. The Bridge will remind you that miracles are possible and that there is still hope in the world. This is a great book to read this Christmas season and really throughout the year. It is nice how it is short and great for those so busy that longer books just never seem to get finished.

This book in many ways is a lot different than her normal full length novels as it is much simpler and sweeter. But, those that love Karen Kingsbury will still find joy in this book and will want to add it to their collection.

I really enjoyed reading the back story of Ryan and Molly and seeing where their lives went and how The Bridge bookstore brought them back together. I will admit reading about the bookstore made me wish we still had more of these small town bookstores that bring the community together and a place to share the love of books, both old and new.

Make sure you add this book to your reading list and enjoy in this story.

*I received this book through Howard Books for the purpose of this review. Thank you!


 Giveaway info:

1. Must live in US.
2. Leave a comment with your e-mail address.
3. Ends Tuesday,  October 30th!
 

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Accidentally Amish by Olivia Newport

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Accidentally Amish
Barbour Books (October 1, 2012)
by
Olivia Newport


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

A Word From The Author:

I’m imagining you. You walk past as I water my front flowerbeds and we wave. You check the time as we both stand in a long line at the grocery store. You sit in front of me in church. I’m at my table in the coffee shop and you’re at yours.

We may smile politely and move on with our separate lives. Or one of us may speak, a simple invitation to conversation, and the words flow between us.

Here the adventure begins. When we meet someone new, we never know where it might lead.

I’ve been married for over thirty years and have two twenty-something kids. We live in stunning Colorado at the foot of the Rockies, where the day lilies in my back yard grow as tall as I am. (No short jokes, please.)

Not every piece of my life is pretty, though. Some days I want to throw out whole chunks. But I am living each day looking for the grace of God to me, in me, and through me. Having your companionship along the way will help uncover a lot of great stories.

Thanks for stopping by my site, where conversations and adventures begin with a click. I hope we’ll run into each other often.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Escape the helter-skelter of the modern culture and join software creator Annie Friesen, hiding at the home of an Amishman. With her high-tech career in jeopardy, Annie runs from fast-paced Colorado Springs—and straight into the hospitality of San Luis Valley’s Amish community. There she meets cabinetmaker Rufus Beiler, and the more time she spends with him, the more attracted she becomes. When Annie finds she shares a common ancestor with Rufus, she feels both cultures colliding within her. But is her love for Rufus strong enough for her to give up the only life she’s ever known?

If you would like to read the first chapter of Accidentally Amish, go HERE.


My Review:

4.5 Stars

Englisch collides with Amish in this first book in Olivia Newport's newest series, Valley of Dreams. Set in both present day and in the past this is a great read that has a little of everything. I really found myself enjoying this story. I just loved the historical part of the story as much as the main story. Many times when authors mix past and present I find myself more interested in one story or the other, but not with this book they were both great. I loved Annie and the journey she took and the decisions she made in the end. I am greatly looking forward to the next book in this series and hope I do not have to wait to long.

Cultures collide when Annie discovers a common ancestor with an Amish man, Rufus. Does this modern woman have family history in the Amish culture and how is she connected to Rufus. This and more you will find in this fast paced read.

* I received this book through CFBA and the publisher for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

You Don't Know Me by Susan May Warren

About the Book:

A Deep Haven Novel

Sometimes the secrets we keep to protect ourselves can be our undoing.

To all who know her, Annalise Decker is a model wife and mother. She’s a permanent member of the PTA, never misses a sporting event, and is constantly campaigning for her husband’s mayoral race.

No one knows that Annalise was once Deidre O’Reilly, a troubled young woman whose testimony put a dangerous criminal behind bars. Relocated through the Witness Security Program to the quaint harbor town of Deep Haven, Deidre received a new identity and a fresh start, which began when she fell in love with local real estate agent Nathan Decker.

Twenty years later, Annalise couldn’t be more unprepared for her past to catch up with her. When Agent Frank Harrison arrives with news that the man she testified against is out on parole and out for revenge, Annalise is forced to face the consequences of her secrets. Will she run again, or will she finally find the courage to trust those she loves most with both her past and her future?

Meet Susan:


Susan May Warren is the RITA award-winning novelist of over thirty novels. A five-time Christy award finalist, a two-time RITA Finalist, she’s also a multi-winner of the Inspirational Readers Choice award, and the ACFW Carol Award.

A seasoned women’s events speaker, she’s a popular writing teacher at conferences around the nation and the author of the beginning writer’s workbook: From the Inside-Out: discover, create and publish the novel in you!.

Find out more about Susan May at http://www.susanmaywarren.com/.
My Review:

5 Stars

What a fantastic book this was! From the back cover to the first pages this book had me hooked and kept my brain thinking for days on end. I found this book to be a fast read since I couldn't wait to find out how it would all turn out. This is the type of book that really makes you think and wonder what it would be like to be in Annalise's shoes. Can you imagine having to change your name, identity, where you live, and how you do things? Well that is just what Annalise had to do years ago when she went into the witness protection program. No one could know her life as a kid and teenager, nothing from her past could be divulged since anything could potentially hurt her or those she loved. After finishing this book it kept making me think about that situation and how there could be someone you met in your life that could be part of the witness protection program and you would never know it.

I highly recommend this book to everyone, part suspense, part romance, there is something for all. While this book is part of the Deep Haven series it can easily be read as a standalone. Great job Susan May Warren on a thought provoking and excellent book!

*I received this book through Tyndale and LitFuse for the purpose of this review.



Giveaway Info:
 
Welcome to the campaign launch for Susan May Warren's latest offering in her beloved Deep Haven series, You Don't Know Me. Susan is celebrating with a $200 Weekend Getaway Giveaway and hosting a fun video Author Chat Party!

 
One fortunate winner will receive:
  • A $200 Visa Gift Card (Use that to catch up with a loved one and “Get to Know” your spouse, friend, sister, mom…whomever!)
  • The entire set of Deep Haven Books
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on October 22nd. Winner will be announced at the ”You Don’t Know Me” Author Chat Facebook Party on 10/23. Connect with Susan for an evening of book chat, Deep Haven trivia, and a live video chat! There will also be info about Susan’s BookShout read-along and a chance to win gift certificates, books, and other fun prizes!

So grab your copy of You Don’t Know Me and join Susan on the evening of the October 23rd for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven’t read the books – don’t let that stop you from coming!)

Don't miss a moment of the fun, RSVP todayTell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 23rd!

Thursday, October 18, 2012

The Girl in Glass by Susan Meissner

About the Book:

Renaissance is a word with hope infused in every letter.

Since she was a child, Meg has dreamed of taking a promised trip to Florence, Italy, and being able to finally step into the place captured in a picture at her grandmother’s house. But after her grandmother passes away and it falls to her less-than-reliable father to take her instead, Meg’s long-anticipated travel plans seem permanently on hold.

When her dad finally tells Meg to book the trip, she prays that the experience will heal the fissures left on her life by her parents’ divorce. But when Meg arrives in Florence, her father is nowhere to be found, leaving aspiring memoir-writer Sophia Borelli to introduce Meg to the rich beauty of the ancient city. Sofia claims to be one of the last surviving members of the Medici family and that a long-ago Medici princess, Nora Orsini, communicates with her from within the great masterpieces of the Italian Renaissance.

When Sophia, Meg, and Nora’s stories intersect, their lives will be indelibly changed as they each answer the question: What if renaissance isn’t just a word? What if that’s what happens when you dare to believe that what is isn’t what has to be?

My Review:

After reading A Sound Among the Trees last year I just knew I could not wait to read Susan Meissnerr's next book and while the wait was not fun it was definitely worth it. I love Susan's ability to blend a contemporary story with a historical story, some authors try but do not succeed, but Susan has figured it out. I absolutely loved the setting of Florence, Italy, but who wouldn't in all reality. While I have been to Italy, I have not been to Florence but reading this book makes me want to go all the more.

I really enjoyed the stories of each of the women and how they all intersected. It really made it hard for me to put the book down since I just wanted to know more and more. I was almost a little sad when the story ended, but journey was so worth it.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who like contemporary, historical or both since the book has something for all. If you are looking for a strict romance this book may not be for you, but you should still give it a try.

* I received this book through Blogging for Books for the purpose of this review.

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

The Guest Book by Marybeth Whalen

About the Book:

Twenty-five years after she began exchanging drawings with a mysterious boy in the guest book of a Carolina beach house, Macy Dillon is back at Sunset Beach---this time toting a hurting heart and a broken family. Will she be able find the man whose drawings moved her so deeply when she was a child? Questions of childhood, loss, and longing for love are explored in author Marybeth Whalen’s touching and thought-provoking, The Guest Book.

My Review:

3 stars

A romance set in a beach setting, with a little mystery seemed like a great combination of fun but to me it fell short. When I started the book I was super excited and expected to thoroughly enjoy it but as the story progressed I slowly lost interest. I have read She  Makes it Look Easy by the same author and really enjoyed that book and the message it portrayed but there just wasn't much substance to this book for me. I know there are many out there that will enjoy this book more than me which is great! Overall I will most likely read more from Marybeth Whalen in the future.

* I received this book from Zondervan for the purpose of this review.

Sunday, October 14, 2012

A Love Surrendered by Julie Lessman

About the Book:

Orphaned in Iowa, Annie Kennedy moves to Boston to stay with her spinster aunt. She longs for romance to fill the void left by her parents' death. But when she falls hard for Steven O'Connor, the man who broke an engagement to her sister, Annie is worried. Will he break her heart too when he discovers who she really is?

With heart-pounding romance, intense family drama, and emotional twists and turns, A Love Surrendered is everything Julie Lessman's many fans have been waiting for.
 My Review:
5 Stars ( or more like 10 stars )
What a fantastic book this was to read!!! A Love Surrendered is the third book in Julie Lessman's Winds of Change series and I think it was my favorite in this series. Annie Kennedy just jumped out of the pages and into my heart the minute  I met her. She was so much fun to read about and get to know. It was unique because she had not been in any of the others books so she was brand new to the family. It was also great catching up with the rest of the O'Connor's and learning about their plans and schemes!!!
With this book it is sad to think the end has come to the O'Connor family but the road was so much fun in hearing of all their adventures. Julie ended the book fantastically and I felt sad that it was over but there was still a conclusion to wonder six books that spanned two series and many decades. At least there is one more book to read, a lighter simpler tale of how Marcy and Patrick met all those years ago.
I highly (and even higher than that) recommend Julie's books to everyone who loves a good story filled with drama, tension, romance and wonderful Christian lessons. Though I warn any new reader to Juile, DO NOT read them out of order! Each book builds on the past one and it would just not be right to read them out of order. 
Congrats Julie on another wonderful novel that will remain in my heart and on my bookshelf for years to come.
* I received this book through Revell for the purpose of this review. Thank you Revell!

Saturday, October 13, 2012

When A Heart Stops by Lynette Eason

About the Book:

A killer's deadly game needs new players . . . but someone's about to change the rules

As a medical examiner, Serena Hopkins is used to dealing with death. But that doesn't make it any easier when she's called to the eerie scene of a murder--especially when Serena realizes that she knows the victim. Nearly as unnerving is the presence of FBI agent Dominic Allen, her childhood crush.

As evidence mounts and points to a serial killer with disturbingly familiar methods, Serena and Dominic must work to find a pattern and stop the killings before the murderer strikes again. And when Serena's own life seems at stake, she must decide if the secret she has been keeping has put her next on the killer's hit list. Can she trust Dominic with the truth before it's too late?

My Review:

4 Stars

When A Heart Stops is book 2 in Lynette Eason's Deadly Reunions series. This book picks up where the last book ended and I strongly recommend reading the books in order. In fact it would be easy to be confused if you had not read the first book. While I found the first book to be filled with non stop action and and a complete page turner I did not find that with this book. I did find that the suspense was more chilling, creepy and very intricate and that made me want to finish the book to find out what happens. The only problem I had in the end is that this book ended with another cliff hanger just like the first book. Now to wait more months till the final book comes out and the story can wrap up. This is the type of series that I would much rather read all at once then waiting for each book to come out.

*I received the book from Revell for the purpose of this review. Thank you Revell!

Thursday, October 11, 2012

All Things New by Lynn Austin

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
All Things New
Bethany House Publishers (October 1, 2012)
by
Lynn Austin


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

For many years, Lynn Austin nurtured a desire to write but frequent travels and the demands of her growing family postponed her career. When her husband's work took Lynn to Bogota, Colombia, for two years, she used the B.A. she'd earned at Southern Connecticut State University to become a teacher. After returning to the U.S., the Austins moved to Anderson, Indiana, Thunder Bay, Ontario, and later to Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Lynn resigned from teaching to write full-time in 1992. Since then she has published twelve novels. Five of her historical novels, Hidden Places, Candle in the Darkness, Fire by Night, A Proper Pursuit, and Until We Reach Home have won Christy Awards in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2008, and 2009 for excellence in Christian Fiction. Fire by Night was also one of only five inspirational fiction books chosen by Library Journal for their top picks of 2003, and All She Ever Wanted was chosen as one of the five inspirational top picks of 2005. Lynn's novel Hidden Places has been made into a movie for the Hallmark Channel, starring actress Shirley Jones. Ms Jones received a 2006 Emmy Award nomination for her portrayal of Aunt Batty in the film.

ABOUT THE BOOK

In the aftermath of the Civil War, Josephine Weatherly and her mother, Eugenia, struggle to pick up the pieces of their lives when they return to their Virginia plantation. But the bitter realities of life after the war cannot be denied: their home and land are but shells of their previous grandeur; death has claimed her father and brother; and her remaining brother, Daniel, has returned home bitter and broken. The privileged childhood Josephine enjoyed now seems like a long-ago dream. And the God who failed to answer any of her prayers during the war is lost to her as well.

Josephine soon realizes that life is now a matter of daily survival--and recognizes that Lizzie, as one of the few remaining servants, is the one she must rely on to teach her all she needs to know. Josephine's mother, too, vows to rebuild White Oak...but a bitter hatred fuels her.

With skill and emotion, Lynn Austin brings to life the difficult years of the Reconstruction era by interweaving the stories of three women--daughter, mother, and freed slave--in a riveting tale.

If you would like to read the first chapter of All Things New, go HERE.

My Review:

This is the third Lynn Austin book I have read, and I will have to say I have loved them all. Lynn is so talented at writing historical fiction novels that I have come to expect only the best from her. Her books are different than many others historical Christian fiction out there mainly because she really focuses on the the history and the life in the given time period and not the romance. So if you are looking for mainly a romance this book is not for you.

All Things New is set in the south on a plantation just after the Civil War. I really found this to be an interesting setting because I have not really read anything else in this type of setting. The South has lost war, but they have lost so much more. They have lost their lifestyle, their possessions and most importantly their men. While slavery is clearly wrong, just because the slaves were free didn't change the way many thought, some easily accepted the fact and others did not. This was a very hard era for those in the south, both the plantation owners and the freed slaves. I really admired the characters that stood up for the freed salves and accepted that they are real people and can't be treated as slaves anymore. Overall, Lynn Austin did a great job at capturing the time period and the issues the people faced.

*I received this book through CFBA in exchange for my honest review. Thank You!

Unending Devotion by Jody Hedlund + Giveaway

About the Book:

Michigan, 1883
In Her Darkest Hours, Is He the Man She Needs?

Lily Young longs to find her lost sister or will die trying. Heedless of any danger, she searches logging camps and towns, posing as a photographer's assistant. And then she arrives in Harrison, Michigan--and the sights of Connell McCormick.

Connell is determined to increase the fortune of his lumber-baron father and figures as long as he's living an upright life, that's what matters. But when Lily arrives in town she upends his world, forcing him to confront the truth that dangerous men have gained too much power while good men turn a blind eye.


Vexing but persuasive, Lily soon secures Connell's help, drawing them ever closer to each other. Will standing for what's right cost them both everything?


My Review:


4.5 Stars

Unending Devotion is Jody Hedlund's newest book and I just loved it. I found it to be different than her last book A Doctor's Lady. I really found Lily's character to be strong and brave, and a bit stubborn at times, her passion to find her sister and make a change is so strong. It makes me wonder if myself and others I know would have the same courage to do what she did. It is not easy the things she faced and the world her sister lived in.

I highly recommend this book to everyone. It is listed as a historical romance, but personally I think everyone would enjoy it and get something out of it. There is so much true history in the book that it makes the story that much better. It also brings awareness to what life really was like in the 1880's logging industry. Overall, great job Jody and I will be looking forward to your next book.

I received this book from the author and publisher for the purpose of this review. Thank you!




Book Trailer:




Giveaway Info:

Jody has offered to give a copy of the book away to one of my readers. Thank you Jody!

Here is what you need to know to enter:

1. Giveaway ends  October 19th
2. Must leave a comment with your e-mail
3. Must live in the US.

Monday, October 8, 2012

His Love Endures Forever by Beth Wiseman

About the Book:

An unplanned pregnancy. An absent father. Can love really endure all things?

Danielle Kent is anything but Amish. But as destiny would have it, she has fallen in love with an Amish man.

Now she’s 18, pregnant, and hopeful that the child’s Amish father—Matthew Lapp—will do the right thing and marry her. She knows Matthew plans to leave his Colorado settlement for a life in the Englisch world. But that plan never included a baby.

When Matthew walks away from her and their unborn child, she has nowhere to turn. Her unlikely friendship with Levi offers some comfort—yet they have so little in common. This wasn’t the plan she had for her life, and she has never felt so alone. She doesn’t want to be pregnant. Doesn’t want to be Amish. Doesn’t want to trust God.

And yet.

God has plans beyond what her mind can imagine . . . loving plans to show a lost young woman that His love never fails but endures forever.

My Review:


4.5 Stars

What a fantastic conclusions to a great series. I could not wait to read this book, partially because the first two were great and partially because Danielle and Martha are my favorite characters. I couldn't wait to hear Danielle's story and have more encounters with Martha. I got so wrapped up in this story and found myself reading the book in less than a day. It really pulled me from the beginning.

Beth Wiseman does an amazing job at weaving in truth that God's love does endure forever. This is something that many of need to learn, both those that grow up in the faith and those that don't. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Amish fiction, a good story and more.  I will also say this is not your typical Amish fiction, or at least very different from Beverly Lewis's style. It is not so much about the rules, but the people and God's love. While I think you could read this book without reading the first two, there would be so much you would be missing out. So I highly encourage anyone that has interest in this book to read the whole series, you won't be sorry.

* I received this book from booksneeze.com for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Short Straw Bride by Karen Witemeyer

About the Book:

Four brothers. Four straws. One bride.

No one steps on Archer land. Not if they value their life. But when Meredith Hayes overhears a plot to burn the Archer brothers off their ranch, a long-standing debt compels her to take the risk.

Years of constant vigilance hardens a man. Yet when Travis Archer comes across a female trespasser with the same vivid blue eyes as the courageous young girl he once aided, he can't bring himself to send her away. And when an act of sacrifice leaves her injured and her reputation in shreds, gratitude and guilt prompt him to attempt to rescue her once again.

Despite the fact that Travis is no longer the gallant youth Meredith once dreamed about, she vows to stand by his side. But will love ever be hers? Or will Travis always see her as merely a short-straw bride?

My Review:
5 Stars

To start off with, doesn't this cover just make you want to run out and get the book! What a beautiful cover that helps set the setting of the book. Just as much as I loved the cover, I loved the book even more. I have read most of Karen's book and they have all been wonderful and different. From page one to the final page I enjoyed this book. The characters are so much fun and very believable. I enjoyed all the adventures they went on and was excited to find out how it all would turn out. 

I highly recommend this book to any one who loves historical romance and any current Karen Witemeyer fans. You won't be disappointed! I know I can't wait for her next release!

* I received this book from the author for the purpose of this review. Thank you Karen!

Saturday, September 29, 2012

The Trouble With Cowboys by Denise Hunter

About the Book:

Only one pair of boots—and the cowboy wearing them—can get Annie out of the mess she’s in.

Annie Wilkerson is Moose Creek’s premiere horse trainer and equine columnist for Montana Living. Money is tight as she tries to put her kid-sister through college and provide for her young nephew. When Annie’s column is cancelled, she’s given first shot at a new lovelorn column—and she can’t afford to turn it down. Only problem is . . . Annie’s never been in love.

Always resourceful, she reluctantly strikes a deal with the town’s smooth-talking ladies’ man Dylan Taylor: She’ll work with his ailing horse, Braveheart, if he’ll help her answer the reader letters.

Working closely with Dylan is harder than Annie imagined, and she quickly realizes she may have misjudged him. But her unwavering conviction that cowboys are nothing but trouble has kept her heart safe for years. And she can’t risk getting hurt now.

The more Annie tries to control things, the more they fall apart. Her feelings are spinning out of control, and her sister’s antics are making life increasingly more difficult. Annie knows she needs to turn the reins over to God, but surrender has never come easily.

When Dylan reveals his feelings for her, Annie doesn’t know what to trust—her head or her heart. The trouble with this cowboy is that he might just be exactly what she needs.

My Review: 

4 Stars


The Trouble with Cowboys, is book three in Denise Hunter's Big Sky Romance series and while characters do overlap between the books, they can be easily read on their own. I have read book 2 also and have the first book setting on my shelf waiting to be read, which I will hopefully soon. This book is so much fun to read and is a nice break from some of the deeper books out there. Denise writes very humorously and many times I was laughing out loud but she also has the emotional side to where you cheer the characters on and get mad at them too.

I really enjoyed Annie's character and her passion to help her sister through college and life. She is a strong person that is willing to put her life on the side to help others. I am thankful though that she does learn to live her own life and allow someone to love her as she deserves.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good, clean romance. This is a great beach or vacation read. Great job Denise on writing a great book.

* I received this book from Thomas Nelson through Litfuse Publicity. Thank You!

Party and Giveaway Info:


To celebrate the release of The Trouble with Cowboys Denise is hosting a fun Author Chat Party on Facebook. She'll connect with readers and give away some amazing prizes - including a Kindle Fire! 
Save the Date for October 11th!

Grab your copy of Denise Hunter’s latest book and join her for an Author Chat Party on October 11th at 8:00 PM EST (that’s 7:00 Central, 6:00 MST, & 5:00 PST)! Haven’t read The Trouble with Cowboys yet? That’s okay, don’t let that stop you from coming to the party! (You may win a copy!)

During the evening she’ll be sharing the story behind the book, posting discussion questions, testing your trivia skills, and of course, there will be plenty of chatting and fun giveaways – books, gift certificates and – a Kindle Fire! She’ll also be giving you a sneak peek of her next book too!

RSVP today and then come back on the 11th … and bring your friends!

Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Taming the Wind by Tracie Peterson

About the Book:

A young widow nursing the wounds of her past...
A cowboy with demons of his own...

Though grateful for the blessing of her daughter, Carissa Lowe has accepted that widowhood is her lot in life. Bound by fear and mistrust, she feels incapable of opening her heart again.

Tyler Atherton has never forgotten Carissa. When he discovers she's living with her sister on a nearby ranch, his life becomes intertwined with the lovely widow's. And Carissa's daughter, Gloria, seems determined to wrap herself around his little finger. But while Tyler longs to provide a home and future for Carissa, he is haunted by an obligation he feels unable to fulfill.


Challenged by mounting hardships, can Carissa and Tyler preserve their fledgling love in a land as unforgiving and vibrant as the people who call it home?

My Review:

3 Stars

Over the last few years I have read several of Tracie Peterson's historical series and contemporary fiction books. Many of them I have really enjoyed and a few have fallen short in my own opinion.  Sadly this book was just not my favorite, I read book 1 in the series, Chasing the Sun, and found it to be slow moving and just could not get into it. I did not have the time to read the second, but was hoping things would get better with book 3. I will say that I found it a little more interesting, but it took a bit to get into the book. I am sure there are many people out there that would enjoy this book as well as the series, since the great thing about being human is to have our own opinions and interest. Part of it might have been the setting for me, since it is not my most favorite setting, but I know people that love that setting so I hope they will also enjoy the book. With all this said, I thoroughly look forward to reading future books from Tracie as well as some of her older ones I have not read yet, since for the most part I find that she is a great author with a talent to write in many settings, both historical and contemporary.

*I received this book through Bethany House and Litfuse Publicity for the purpose of this review.

 Enter Today - 9/6-9/26! 

  Tracie
Peterson Taming the Wind Kindle Fire Giveaway

Monday, September 17, 2012

With Every Letter by Sarah Sundin

About the Book:

They know everything about each other--except their real names.

Lt. Mellie Blake is looking forward to beginning her training as a flight nurse. She is not looking forward to writing a letter to a man she's never met--even if it is anonymous and part of a morale-building program. Lt. Tom MacGilliver, an officer stationed in North Africa, welcomes the idea of an anonymous correspondence--he's been trying to escape his infamous name for years.

As their letters crisscross the Atlantic, Tom and Mellie develop a unique friendship despite not knowing the other's true identity. When both are transferred to Algeria, the two are poised to meet face-to-face for the first time. Will they overcome their fears and reveal who they are, or will their future be held hostage by their pasts?

Combining a flair for romance with excellent research and attention to detail, Sarah Sundin vividly brings to life the perilous challenges of WWII aviation, nursing--and true love.

My Review:

5 Stars

WOW, I loved this book from the very first page to the last page. I didn't want it to end and I can't wait to read the next two books in the series and get to know to of the minor characters from this one. With Every Letter is the first book from Sarah Sundin that I have read and now I can't wait to go back and read her other books. I loved having a romance set during WWII and seeing a happy story develop in the midst of war. Many stories set during war times can be so sad, and they forget there were many happy things going on during that time too. I was swept into the romance of this story and couldn't wait to see how they would find out who each other is and where it would go from there. In the end, I really can't say enough good things about this book and recommend it to everyone.

*I received this book from Revell for the purpose of this review. Thank you Revell!!!!!

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Kisses from Katie by Katie Davie

About the Book:

What would cause an eighteen-year-old senior class president and homecoming queen from Nashville, Tennessee, to disobey and disappoint her parents by forgoing college, break her little brother’s heart, lose all but a handful of her friends (because they think she has gone off the deep end), and break up with the love of her life, all so she could move to Uganda, where she knew only one person and didn’t even speak the language?

A passion to follow Jesus.

Katie Davis left over Christmas break of her senior year for a short mission trip to Uganda and her life was turned completely inside out. She found herself so moved by the people of Uganda and the needs she saw that she knew her calling was to return and care for them. Katie, a charismatic and articulate young woman, is in the process of adopting thirteen children in Uganda and has established a ministry, Amazima, that feeds and sends hundreds more to school while teaching them the Word of Jesus Christ.

Kisses from Katie invites readers on a journey of radical love down the red dirt roads of Uganda. You’ll laugh and cry with Katie as she follows Jesus into the impossible and finds joy and beauty beneath the dust. Katie and her children delight in saying yes to the people God places in front of them and challenge readers to do the same, changing the world one person at a time.

My Review:

5 Stars

What an inspiration this book is! From the very first page it makes you think of others out there and how fortunate we are to live in such comforts. The way she she talks about the joy and cheerfulness the children have despite living in filth and with so little makes you really think about all the things we complain about here. The things we complain about are so trivial to them. I loved how Katie presented her journey, struggles and plan without being preachy and making you think that if you don't do what she is doing then you aren't being a good Christian. I loved how she taught the fact that we are all called to be missionaries whether it be overseas or in our own backyard.

I just loved the stories of the different children she has adopted or worked with and her love and passion for the country. She is a great example of how when we follow God's will contentment and peace will be there even when conditions are harsh. She does share her struggles and shows it is not an easy life but it is the one that is meant for her.

Overall I recommend this book for anyone that want to encouraged and loves stories of mission works.

*I received this book from Howard Books for the purpose of this review.

The Reunion by Dan Walsh

About the book:

Everything lost can be found.

Aaron Miller knows a thing or two about loss. He's lost love. Dignity. Second, and even third, chances. Once honored for his heroism, he now lives in near obscurity, working as a handyman in a humble trailer park.

But God is a master at finding and redeeming the lost things of life. Unbeknownst to Aaron, someone is searching for him.

With deep insight into the human heart, consummate storyteller Dan Walsh gently weaves a tale of a life spent in the shadows but meant for the light. Through tense scenes of war and tender moments of romance, The Reunion will make you believe that everyone can get a second chance at life and love.

My Review:

4.5 Stars

The Reunion by Dan Walsh is the third book I have read from him and I find myself loving every book so far. I will admit that his spring 2010 release, The Discovery, was definitely my favorite but this on is a close second. I just loved the romance part of this story, it was so sweet, gentle and showed that love can happen anywhere at any time. Dan Walsh did a great job at weaving a love story, war story and story of healing and reunion. At times it was said to see all that Aaron lost but what was even sadder was seeing what he had that he didn't see. We as humans so often don't see what others see and what God is trying to show us. This is a great story of honoring heros, opening closed doors and finding new love. Great job, Dan and I can't wait to read more from you in the future.

* I received this book from Revell for the purpose of this review. Thank you Revell.

Saturday, September 8, 2012

To Write A Wrong by Robin Caroll

It is time for a FIRST Wild Card Tour book review! If you wish to join the FIRST blog alliance, just click the button. We are a group of reviewers who tour Christian books. A Wild Card post includes a brief bio of the author and a full chapter from each book toured. The reason it is called a FIRST Wild Card Tour is that you never know if the book will be fiction, non~fiction, for young, or for old...or for somewhere in between! Enjoy your free peek into the book!

You never know when I might play a wild card on you!



Today's Wild Card author is:


and the book:

B&H Books (September 15, 2012)

***Special thanks to Shannon Kozee of B&H Fiction for sending me a review copy.***

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Robin Caroll has authored twelve previous books including the Holt Medallion Award of Merit winner, Deliver Us From Evil. She gives back to the writing community by serving as Conference Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. A proud southerner, Robin lives with her husband, three daughters, and two precious grandsons in Arkansas.


Visit the author's website.





SHORT BOOK DESCRIPTION:


In Angola State Penitentiary, a man is serving time for a crime he didn’t commit. Riley Baxter is an eager reporter desperate for a story to make a name for herself. When she stumbles upon the daughter of the incarcerated man, Riley sees a little too much of herself in the teen, and vows to help prove her father’s innocence.

At the same time, Hayden Simpson has his hands full with keeping his little sister in line, worrying about his job as Police Commissioner, and dealing with his past emotional baggage. The last thing he needs is someone blowing the lid off his emotional bucket. But when Riley Baxter storms into his life, struggling to understand why God would let bad things happen to good people, Hayden has no choice but to follow his heart.

Now, Riley and Hayden must work together to uncover the truth of the past . . . before someone shuts Riley up for good.


Product Details:
List Price: $14.99
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: B&H Books
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1433672138
ISBN-13: 9781433672132


AND NOW...THE FIRST CHAPTER:


Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Love's Reckoning by Laura Frantz

About the Book:

On a bitter December day in 1784, Silas Ballantyne arrives at the door of blacksmith Liege Lee in York County, Pennsylvania. Silas is determined to finish his apprenticeship quickly and move west. But because he is a fast worker and a superb craftsman, Liege endeavors to keep him in York by appealing to an old tradition: the apprentice shall marry one of his master's beautiful daughters.

Eden is as gentle and fresh as Elspeth is high-spirited and cunning. But are they truly who they appear to be? In a house laced with secrets, each sister seeks to secure her future. Which one will claim Silas's heart--and will he agree to Liege's arrangement?

In this sweeping family saga, one man's choices in love and work, in friends and enemies, set the stage for generations to come. This is the Ballantyne Legacy.

My Review:

5 Star

Love's Reckoning is the first book I have read from Laura Frantz and I know with out a shadow of a doubt I will be reading more from. I know many people who love her books and now I know why. This book is wonderful and I enjoyed every minute of it. Laura Frantz writes with a different style then many other authors out there and I felt like it read more like classic books. That is just my own opinion. The characters, setting and such are described in great detail and she takes her time in developing the characters. By the end of the story they feel real and multidimensional. The characters of Eden and Elspeth are both fun and different and I came to like them for different reasons. I am greatly looking forward to following their story in the future. The only downside I found with the book is that I have to wait a year for book 2 to release. I recommend this book to anyone who loves historical romances and family sagas, which to me makes a great combination. Way to go Laura Frantz on an excellent book!

*I received this book from Revell for the purpose of this review. Thank you Revell!