Tuesday, December 2, 2014

God Gave Us Angels Children's Picture Book

About the Book:

“What do angels do all day, Papa?”

When Papa finds Little Cub looking for angels, it gives him a chance to tell his beloved child about those that may be in their midst, even when they can’t be seen. Exploring their exhilarating Arctic world as they talk, Papa lovingly answers all of Little Cub’s questions about angels—and as usual, she has a lot. She wants to know what they do, how they look, how they guard God’s loved ones, and best of all, how they serve the Creator of the world.

“God really created angels to serve him more than us, Little Cub.
They love him and would do anything for him.”

This uplifting tale will encourage young hearts by exploring the glory and design of God’s messengers, while turning toward him with praise.

My Review:

4 Stars

I just love the God Gave Us series so much and when I saw this available to review I just had to grab it. Just like the other books children learn about the bible and Christian worldview through Little Cub that asks many questions to his Papa, just like our children do to us. Each page is beautifully illustrated and the adorable polar bears will warm your heart. In this particular book Little Cub learns about Angels and God's purpose of them and also teaches our children to praise God too.

The book is targeted to the 3-7 year old age group but my almost 2 year old was able to sit through the whole book and enjoy it. Its a great book to read to your kids and also one for a young reader learning to read. I love that the book will appeal to both girls, boys and parents too.

* I received this book through Blogging for books for the purpose of this review. My honest review is all that was expected. Thank You!


Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Surprised by Love by Julie Lessman

About the Book:

She can turn the head of the man who spurned her--but can she turn his heart?

When Megan McClare left San Francisco to study in Paris, no one would accuse her of being poised and pretty. But on the other side of the Atlantic, this wallflower blossomed into a beauty with big dreams. When she returns to California and accepts an internship at the district attorney's office, she's thrilled that her life is taking shape. But the exciting opportunity quickly loses its glow when she discovers she'll be working alongside Devin Caldwell, who mercilessly mocked her at school--and with whom she was hopelessly enamored.

Bram Hughes is the best friend to whom Megan has always turned for support and advice. But when she seeks his counsel about working with Devin Caldwell, Bram's vision is clouded by his sudden unwelcome attraction to a girl he had always thought of as a little sister. He advises forgiveness, but can he forgive himself for pushing the woman he loves into the arms of another man?

Author Julie Lessman draws a romantic triangle that will touch your heart in this glittering Gilded Age tale of transforming love.

My Review:

5 Stars

If you have ever read a Julie Lessman book then you know you will be blown away. This statement holds true for her newest book, Surprised by Love which is also the conclusion to her Hearts of San Francisco series. I was so sad when the book finished since it was so good like the whole series and now I have to wait till she publishes more. Julie Lessman books are hard to wait for :). I really enjoyed the setting of San Francisco in the Gilded age because its a setting that many authors haven't used yet so it made it fresh and exciting.

If you have never read one of her books, then you need to do it now! For those that have make sure you read this one since you won't be disappointed.

*I received this book from Revell for the purpose of this book. Thank You!

Monday, November 17, 2014

At Bluebonnet Lake by Amanda Cabot

About the Book:

Her life is set to warp speed. His is slowing to a crawl. But love has its own timing.

Marketing maven Kate Sherwood's world is fast-paced, challenging, and always changing. The last thing she wants to do is grind to a halt at Rainbow's End, a dilapidated resort in the Texas Hill Country. Still, she cannot deny her ailing grandmother's request to visit the place where she and her deceased husband spent one glorious week fifty years ago. There, Kate meets Greg, who appears to be the resort's unassuming handyman. But there's more to Greg than meets the eye--billions more, in fact.

Kate isn't looking for romance, but she can't deny the sparks of attraction that fly every time she and Greg are together. Could there be a future there? Or will Kate's long-sought promotion take her back to the big city?

Amanda Cabot invites you to step into a place away from the pressures of the day. You might be surprised by what you find at Rainbow's End.

My Review:

4 Stars

What a fun book! I have read Amanda Cabot's previous two series and just loved, they were both historical. When I saw she was breaking outside the historical box I was intrigued and worried. You just never know how well it will play out, but she did a fantastic job in writing a more modern day story.  Amanda Cabot writing flows so well and the story lines keep me turning the page too late into the night. 

I just loved Kate and Greg, such fun people and loved seeing how their story would play out. I liked how Kate wasn't looking for romance, since that is so often how it happens every day. When its not what you are looking for, you tend to find it.

Any fans of Amanda Cabot, or a good romance story will love this book and make a great addition to your library. Great Job.

*I received this book from Revell for the purpose of this review.

Monday, November 10, 2014

The Promise by Beth Wiseman

About the Book:

Mallory’s search for happiness leads her to a faraway place. There she finds heartache, betrayal—and danger.

Mallory Hammond is determined that no one will stand in the way of her goal—to save a life. She had that chance years ago, and she failed to take it, leaving her adrift and in search of the real meaning of her life. Finally, she meets a man online from a volatile corner of the world who offers her the chance to find that purpose. But she will have to leave everyone she loves behind in order to take it.

Tate Webber has loved Mallory for many years. He understands that Mallory will never be happy with him until her deepest heart’s desire is satisfied. When Mallory decides to travel across the world to fulfi ll her dreams, Tate begs her not to go but tries to give her the space she needs. Mallory embarks on her dangerous journey only to discover how swiftly and easily promises can be broken. And Mallory can only pray that she will make it out alive.

Inspired by actual events, The Promise is a riveting love story that asks the question: how far will we go for love?

My Review:

5+ Stars

Wow, fantastic story. Very powerful. Words can not express how much I loved this book. Easily a top book of the year for me. Just like Beth Wiseman's previous books she has the power to draw readers in and really feel every emotion going on. She makes you rejoice with them, feel scared for them and so much more.

I really do not want to give to much away about this book because its just that good that needs to be read and experienced by the reader. I loved Mallory's character and determination to fulfill a promise made years ago. I will warn that this is not a quick, simple beach read but a deep book with some very scary situations involved that will give you an eye opening experience. It is based on actual events that the author was close to and that makes it so much more real.

As with all of Beth's books, I loved this one too. She is a great author that I always look forward to reading. Thank you Beth for writing something out of the box and drawing me into the story so well.

* I received this book through Litfuse for the purpose of this review. Thank You!

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

The Brickmaker's Bride by Judith Miller

About the Book:

Book One in Refined by Love series

Yearning for a fresh start, Ewan McKay travels with his aunt and uncle from northern Scotland to West Virginia, promising to trade his skills in the clay business for financial assistance from his uncle Hugh. Hugh purchases a brickmaking operation from a Civil War widow and her daughter, but it’s Ewan who gets the business up and running again. Ewan seeks help from Laura, the former owner’s daughter, and he feels a connection with her, but she’s being courted by another man–a lawyer with far more social clout and money than Ewan. Besides, Ewan has resolved he’ll focus on making the brickmaking operation enough of a success that he can become a partner in the business and be able to afford to bring his sisters over from Scotland.

But when Hugh signs a bad business deal, all Ewan’s hard work may come to naught. As his plans begin to crumble, Laura reveals something surprising. She and her mother may have a way to save the brickworks, and in turn Ewan may have another shot at winning Laura’s heart.

My Review:

4 Stars

The Brickmaker's Bride is only the second book I have read from Judith Miller but if I didn't enjoy her then I do now. I have also read a few books where she co authored with Tracie Peterson which is the first place I heard her name. I am glad I have discovered this author and look forward to reading more in this series.

I found this book to be a great pace and an enjoyable story. A story abouth taking a chance on love and trusting God in the disappointing times and the good times. I really enjoyed the characters and felt like Judith Miller did an excellent job at bringing them to life and giving them multiple facets.  I really enjoyed the setting and found it fun that Ewan came from Scotland. Overall I really enjoyed this book and look forward to more.

*I Received this book through Litfuse Publicity for the purpose of this review. Thank You!


Sunday, November 2, 2014

The Daughter of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky.\

About the Book:

Book 2 in Edwardian Brides

What if the title, the estate, the life of security and splendor… what if it isn’t enough?

Strong-willed and beautiful, debutante Katherine Ramsey feels ready to take the London social season by storm, and she must. Her family estate, Highland Hall, has been passed to older male cousin Sir William Ramsey, and her only means of securing her future is to make a strong debut and find a proper husband. With her all-knowing and meddling aunt as a guide, Katherine is certain to attract suitors at the lavish gatherings, sparkling with Great Britain’s elite.

When a shocking family scandal sidelines Katherine, forcing her out of the social spotlight, she keeps a low profile, volunteering with the poor in London’s East End. Here Katherine feels free from her predictable future, and even more so as a friendship with medical student Jonathan Foster deepens and her faith in God grows. But when Katherine is courted anew by a man of wealth and position, dreams of the life she always thought she wanted surface again. Torn between tradition and the stirrings in her heart for a different path, she must decide whom she can trust and love—and if she will choose a life serving others over one where she is served

My Review:

5 Stars

I just loved this book, just like the first book in the series! This book picks up where the last one left off and the story just keeps getting better and better. I really enjoy Kate's story and her journey to salvation.

I find this time frame so fun to read because it is so different from how life is now. I enjoyed learning about all the rules of courtship and entering society, wow the pressure those young ladies had. I can't imagine being in those shoes. I really enjoyed seeing how the events played out in the light of scandal in the family and how it changes Kate's life in great ways.

Fans of Edwardian area and even Regency will love this book and the first one. I know I can't wait till next October for the next book to release, A Refugee at Highland Hall. 

* I received this book from Litfuse Publicity for the purpose of this review. Thank You!

Saturday, October 18, 2014

Thunder by Bonnie S. Calhoun

About the Book:

Book 1 in Stone Braide Chronicles

The Time of Sorrows is long past.
The future of Selah and her people is shrouded in mystery.
And the clock is ticking.

Hidden in the tall grasses along a shore littered with the rusted metal remnants of a once-great city, a hunter crouches. It is the eve of her eighteenth Birth Remembrance and high time she proves to herself and her brothers that she can stand on her own two feet. Selah Rishon Chavez waits not for game but for one of the small boats that occasionally crash against the desolate shoreline. Because inside one of these boats she will find her quarry--a Lander.

These people from an unknown land across the ocean are highly prized by the Company and bring a good price--especially if they keep the markings they arrive with.

Everything falls to pieces when the Lander whom Selah catches is stolen by her brothers, and Selah wakes the next morning to find the Lander's distinctive mark has appeared on her own flesh. Once the hunter, Selah is now one of the hunted, and she knows only one person who can help her--Bodhi Locke, the Lander her brothers hope to sell in the Mountain.

With evocative descriptions of a strange new world that combines elements of disturbing scientific advances, devious political conspiracy, and survival in a hostile wilderness, Bonnie S. Calhoun weaves a captivating tale of a society more like our own than we may want to admit. From the tension-laced first scene to the captivating last page, Thunder is an epic journey into the heart of humankind that explores how far we are willing to go when we're pushed to the limit.

My Review:

4 Stars

Fans of Dystopian  fiction will love Bonnie Calhoun's first book in her brand new series The Stone Braide Chronicles. I personally find this genre fascinating and love seeing how each author tackles the subject. As many us know this is a growing genre that has grabbed a hold of readers and hasn't let go and its nice to see some Christian authors breaking into the genre and putting their own spin on it. No matter what happens on earth God is still in control and Jesus saves.

I really enjoyed this book. I found the plot to be well developed full of believable characters. Bonnie Calhoun mixed action, adventure, romance, suspense and so much more into this book. I will say as the book came to a conclusion it left me wanting for more and I am so ready to read the next in the series. 

* I received this book from Revell Reads for the purpose of this review. Thank You!

Friday, October 3, 2014

Hidden in the Stars by Robin Caroll

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Hidden in the Stars
Abingdon Press (September 16, 2014)
by
Robin Caroll


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Born and raised in Louisiana, Robin Caroll is a southerner through and through. Her passion has always been to tell stories to entertain others. Robin’s mother, bless her heart, is a genealogist who instilled in Robin the deep love of family and pride of heritage—two aspects Robin weaves into each of her books.

When she isn’t writing, Robin spends time with her husband of twenty-plus years, her 3 beautiful daughters, 2 precious grandsons, and their character-filled pets at home—in the South, where else?

ABOUT THE BOOK

Following an attack that killed her mother and stole her ability to speak, 21-year-old Sophia Montgomery has no choice but to accept her estranged grandmother’s offer to return to their family home. Although detective Julian Frazier is working hard on the case, Sophia unknowingly frustrates him because her inability to speak thwarts her eyewitness evidence. The fact that Julian is undeniably attracted to Sophia doesn’t help either, so Julian hides his feelings as concern for a trauma victim and focuses instead on finding the killer.

Little do they know, the clues to solving the case may be right in front of them, displayed in Sophia’s mother’s “special” quilt design. Who will realize the secret Sophia’s unwittingly been hiding in plain sight? When the truth comes to light, will Sophia find her voice again? Or will the murderer—still at large—silence her forever?

If you would like to read the first chapter of Hidden in the Stars, go HERE.


Wednesday, October 1, 2014

A Love Undone by Cindy Woodsmall

About the Book:

A husband and son abandoned to forge a path alone.
A young woman who sacrificed her dreams.
How will the God of grace and hope help them find their way?

At nineteen years old, Old Order Amish Jolene Keim was on the brink of happily-ever-after when everything changed, stealing the future she expected and burdening her with an unbearable decision. For the next ten years, Jolene throws herself into family life—and then she meets Andy Fisher. The horse trainer and father to a sweet nine year-old challenges her and holds up a mirror to issues Jolene has been unwilling to face.

Andy is cautious about his deepening friendship with Jolene, but he believes she knows the truth about him – that he is a grass widower. As a man whose wife has abandoned him six years past, he is unable to divorce or remarry according to the Amish ways. Andy has wrestled with God concerning his reality, and he had found peace with the solitary future facing him…until he met Jolene.

As Andy and Jolene find themselves confronted by difficult choices, will they trust in God's guidance—or will the allure of their deepening friendship only lead to further temptation? 

My Review:

4 Stars

I will start off to say that Amish fiction is not my favorite genre but I do love Cindy Woodsmalls books. Her writing and style is so good that its hard to not like. This is the 3rd book I have read from here and have loved them all. What I liked about this book is that it is stand alone and I don't have to wait to find out what happens next. This is the kind of book that stays with you and hard to forget. I found the whole story to be sweet and a blessing to read. I do find it fascinating to read about the Old Order Amish and how they live. It is so hard to comprehend how different they live and at times refreshing that it is possible to live a simple life.

Anyone that loves Cindy Woodsmall or Amish fiction will truly love this book and not be disappointed by taking the time out to read this wonderful book.

*I received this book from blogging for book for the purpose of this review. Thank You!

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

The Legend of St. Nicholas Childrens Picture Book

About the Book:

In The Legend of St. Nicholas, the new artwork, created by Marley and Me illustrator, Richard Cowdrey, captivates audiences and tells the story of a young man named Nicholas, who was moved by the plight of the poor and needy. Nicholas spent his life secretly helping the poor all over the world, giving gifts on Christmas Eve to remind people of the greatest Gift of all, Jesus Christ. This gentle Christmas book introduces the original St. Nicholas and offers inspiration for readers to become cheerful givers themselves. The final pages in the book include fun Father Christmas traditions in other lands.

About the Author:

Dandi Daley Mackall is the author of over 400 books and still can’t believe she gets to write for a living, helping children of all ages grow spiritually. She and her husband, Joe, both write from rural Ohio, where they’re blessed with three children and a variety of horses, dogs, and cats.

About the Illustrator:

Richard Cowdrey’s favorite things to draw and paint are the things that reflect the awesomeness of God and His creation. From vast landscapes to the littlest bug on a leaf, Richard marvels at the beauty in the details. Richard's bestselling children's books include Bad Dog, Marley and A Very Marley Christmas.

My Review:

4 Stars

From page one it is not hard to see that this is a beautifully illustrated book that children and adults will enjoy. This book is a great way to tell the story behind Santa to our children in a way that is easy for the to understand and enjoyable to. I would recommend this book for kids 4 and up. It is long with a lot of words on each page so the younger crowd may not sit still well that long or truly understand it. This book teaches a lesson on generosity and gift giving that is outwardly focused, something all of us at times need to learn or be reminded off. The book is not perfect but a great choice for the holiday season. I look forward to sharing it with my daughter as she get older.

* I received this book from BookLook Bloggers for the purpose of this review. Thank You.

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Nowhere to Turn by Lynette Eason

About the Book:

Book 2 in Hidden Identity Series

She thought her days of hiding were over . . . but the danger has just begun

The day Danielle Harding takes her eleven-year-old son and flees from her abusive husband is the same day Kurt Harding dies. A relieved Dani believes she and her son are finally safe--but in reality, things are just heating up. When Kurt was alive, he took something important from a mysterious individual--who wants the item back and believes Dani now has it. As she and her son run for their lives, they have nowhere to turn, until she hires Adam Buchanan of Operation Refuge and goes into hiding. Unfortunately, she won't be able to hide for long . . .

From the first breathless scene, this tension-laced story will hold you in its iron grip as bestselling author Lynette Eason propels you along in a race to discover the truth.

My Review:

4 Stars

Nowhere to Turn is a fun and fast paced romantic suspense.  Lynette Eason really knows how to create suspense and weave a fun romance also. This is the second book in her Hidden Identity series but it is totally readable as a standalone book. Just like her other books the book is fast paced filled with unexpected turns and non stop thrill. Fans of Lynette Eason will enjoy this book and fans of romantic suspense need to check this out and her other books as well. I look forward to reading the next book in this series when it comes out.

*I received this book from Revell Reads for the purpose of this review. Thank You!

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Conrad and the Cowgirl Next Door Children's Picture Book


About the Book:

“I hear that becoming a cowboy can be dangerous. Especially if you don't know the rules.

I don’t know the rules.”

It’s a good thing Conrad brought his Mega Ultimate Extreme First Aid Kit to Uncle Clint’s ranch because learning how to be a cowboy turns out to be a lot harder—and more painful—than he thought. Conrad has a lot to learn – including don’t squat with spurs on and never wave your red sweatshirt at a bull. But the biggest challenge of all is dealing with Imogene Louise Lathrup, the know-it-all-cowgirl next door. When Imogene shows up, she is all too happy to point out Conrad’s shortcomings. In this follow-up to their debut hit Pirates on the Farm, author Denette Fretz and illustrator Gene Barretta team up once again to tell a humorous tale about what it means to love your neighbor.

My Review:

5 Stars


Conrad and the Cowgirl Next Door is the next book in the Next Door Series about what happens when someone different moves in next door. The first book Pirates moved next door and this book a Cowgirl is next door. Just like the first book this book is hilarious. I just love all the illustrations that bring the book to life. There are so many details to enjoy and get giggly over.

I really enjoyed this book and highly recommend it to families with young children in the house. What a great book for 3-8 year olds, those still being read to and those reading to themselves. This book has something for all. It can be hard for parents to find books to read to their kids that don't drive them crazy but this one will keep the parents laughing too. The best part is it delivers a great message and full of clean fun.

* I received this book from booklook bloggers for the purpose of this review. Thank You!

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Thief of Glory by Sigmund Brouwer

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Thief of Glory
WaterBrook Press (August 19, 2014)
by
Sigmund Brouwer


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Sigmund Brouwer is the best-selling author of nearly thirty novels, with close to 4 million books in print. Based on his inspiration for Thief of Glory, which Sigmund wrote as a way to learn and honor the his parent’s stories, especially of his father’s boyhood in a Japanese concentration camp, Sigmund leads The Chapters of Our Lives memoir seminars across the United States and Canada. Sigmund is married to recording artist Cindy Morgan and has two daughters.



ABOUT THE BOOK

A boy coming of age in a time of war…
the love that inspires him to survive.


For ten year-old Jeremiah Prins, the life of privilege as the son of a school headmaster in the Dutch East Indies comes crashing to a halt in 1942 after the Japanese Imperialist invasion of the Southeast Pacific. Jeremiah takes on the responsibility of caring for his younger siblings when his father and older stepbrothers are separated from the rest of the family, and he is surprised by what life in the camp reveals about a woman he barely knows—his frail, troubled mother.

Amidst starvation, brutality, sacrifice and generosity, Jeremiah draws on all of his courage and cunning to fill in the gap for his mother. Life in the camps is made more tolerable as Jeremiah’s boyhood infatuation with his close friend Laura deepens into a friendship from which they both draw strength.

When the darkest sides of humanity threaten to overwhelm Jeremiah and Laura, they reach for God’s light and grace, shining through his people. Time and war will test their fortitude and the only thing that will bring them safely to the other side is the most enduring bond of all.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Thief of Glory, go HERE.

Driftwood Tides by Gina Holmes

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Driftwood Tides
Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. (September 1, 2014)
by
Gina Holmes


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Gina Holmes is the founder of Novel Rocket, regularly named as one of Writers Digest’s best websites for writers. Her debut, Crossing Oceans, was a Christy and Gold Medallion finalist and winner of the Carol Award, INSPY, and RWA’s Inspirational Reader’s Choice, as well as being a CBA, ECPA, Amazon and PW bestseller. Her sophomore novel, Dry as Rain was a Christy Award finalist. Her latest novel, Wings of Glass has been named as one of the best books of the year by Library Journal and was a SIBA Okra pick and a finalist for Romantic Times’ Reviewers Choice Award. She holds degrees in science and nursing and currently resides with her family in southern Virginia. She works too hard, laughs too loud, and longs to see others heal from their past and discover their God-given purpose.

ABOUT THE BOOK

He made himself an island until something unexpected washed ashore. When Holton lost his wife, Adele, in a freak accident, he shut himself off from the world, living a life of seclusion, making drifwood sculptures and drowning his pain in gin. Until twenty-three-year-old Libby knocks on his door, asking for a job and claiming to be a friend of his late wife. When he discovers Libby is actually his late wife’s illegitimate daughter, given up for adoption without his knowledge, his life is turned upside down as he struggles to accept that the wife he’d given saint status to was not the woman he thought he knew.

Together Holton and Libby form an unlikely bond as the two struggle to learn the identity of Libby’s father and the truth about Adele, themselves, and each other.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Driftwood Tides, go HERE.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Miracle in a Dry Season by Sarah Loudin Thomas

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Miracle in a Dry Season
Bethany House Publishers (August 5, 2014)
by
Sarah Loudin Thomas


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Sarah Loudin Thomas grew up on a 100-acre farm in French Creek, WV, the seventh generation to live there. Her Christian fiction is set in West Virginia and celebrates the people, the land, and the heritage of Appalachia. Her first novel, Miracle in a Dry Season, releases August 2014 through Bethany House. Sarah is represented by Wendy Lawton of Books & Such Literary Agency.

A graduate of Coastal Carolina University in Conway, SC, Sarah once dreamed of being a marine scientist. But her love for words won out and she has spent much of her career in public relations and marketing. She currently oversees fundraising and communications for a Christian children’s home in Black Mountain, NC.

Sarah and her husband Jim live in the mountains of Western North Carolina with Thistle–the canine equivalent to a personal trainer pushing them to hike, run, and throw sticks. Sarah is active in her local church and enjoys cooking and–you guessed it–reading.

ABOUT THE BOOK

In a Drought, It's the Darkest Cloud

That Brings Hope


It's 1954 and Perla Long's arrival in the sleepy town of Wise, West Virginia, was supposed to go unnoticed. She just wants a quiet, safe place for her and her daughter, Sadie, where the mistakes of her past can stay hidden. But then drought comes to Wise, and Perla is pulled into the turmoil of a town desperately in need of a miracle.

Casewell Phillips has resigned himself to life as a bachelor. . .until he meets Perla. She's everything he's sought in a woman, but he can't get past the sense that she's hiding something. As the drought worsens, Perla's unique gift divides the town in two, bringing both gratitude and condemnation, and placing the pair in the middle of a storm of anger and forgiveness, fear and faith.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Miracle in a Dry Season, go HERE.

Thursday, August 14, 2014

In perfect Time by Sarah Sundin

About the Book:

Two hearts are about to learn the rhythm of love

Bold, sophisticated, and coy, Army Air Force flight nurse Lt. Kay Jobson collects hearts wherever she flies, leaving men pining in airfields all across Europe. So how can ruggedly handsome C-47 pilot Lt. Roger Cooper be all but immune to her considerable charms? In fact, he seems to do everything he can to avoid her.

Still, as they cross the skies between Italy and southern France, evacuating the wounded and delivering paratroopers and supplies, every beat of their hearts draws them closer. Can they overcome the fears and misunderstandings of the past in order to take hold of the future?

Sarah Sundin seamlessly weaves together emotion, action, and sweet romance into a tale that transcends time and calls us to believe in the power of love.

My Review:

5 Stars

Just fantastic! Great third book in Sarah Sundin's Wings of the Nightingale series. This is Kay's story and it is powerful. Her and Roger have had some rough times in their past and this book really shows the power of God  and that redemption and transformation is possible for all. I think this was my favorite in the series, not really sure why but was just so drawn in from the very first page. I know I am sad that this series has ended but I look forward to next series, whatever it may be.

A note to readers, this book can be read on its own. Kay was introduced in the first book but this book is her story and it wouldn't be confusing to read it on its own. Though all the books in the series are great so I would encourage you to read them all!

*I received this book from Revell Reads for the purpose of this review. Thank You!

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Prelude for a Lord by Camille Elliot

About the Book:

An awkward young woman. A haunted young man. A forbidden instrument. Can the love of music bring them together . . . or will it tear them apart? Bath, England---1810 At twenty-eight, Alethea Sutherton is past her prime for courtship; but social mores have never been her forté. She might be a lady, but she is first and foremost a musician. In Regency England, however, the violin is considered an inappropriate instrument for a lady. Ostracized by society for her passion, Alethea practices in secret and waits for her chance to flee to the Continent, where she can play without scandal. But when a thief’s interest in her violin endangers her and her family, Alethea is determined to discover the enigmatic origins of her instrument . . . with the help of the dark, brooding Lord Dommick. Scarred by war, Dommick finds solace only in playing his violin. He is persuaded to help Alethea, and discovers an entirely new yearning in his soul. Alethea finds her reluctant heart drawn to Dommick in the sweetest of duets . . . just as the thief’s desperation builds to a tragic crescendo . . .

My Review:

When I signed up to review this book I was not sure what I would think of it. I do enjoy Regency era but sometimes I find the stories to be slow and hard to get into. I was intrigued by the books description. Never would I think the violin was in appropriate instrument for a young lady to play. The elegance of the instrument just makes you think women would be behind it.

While I did enjoy this book I can't say it was a favorite but was worth my time. I found it hard to get into and a bit slow at times. I knew getting into this that it could be a hit or miss for me, and I would say it was somewhere in the middle. I enjoyed that there was  a little of everything: danger, fear, love, happiness, sadness, you get the point. Did enjoy the history of the time period and of the violin itself. In conclusion, I would recommend this book to those who love Regency Era and want something more than a simple romance.

* I received this book from BookLook Bloggers, thank you!

Thursday, August 7, 2014

The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron

About the Book:

A mysterious painting breathes hope and beauty into the darkest corners of Auschwitz—and the loneliest hearts of Manhattan.

Manhattan art dealer Sera James watched her world crumble at the altar two years ago, and her heart is still fragile. Her desire for distraction reignites a passion for a mysterious portrait she first saw as a young girl—a painting of a young violinist with piercing blue eyes.

In her search for the painting, Sera crosses paths with William Hanover, the grandson of a wealthy California real estate mogul, who may be the key to uncovering the hidden masterpiece. Together, Sera and William slowly unravel the story behind the painting’s subject: Austrian violinist Adele Von Bron.

A darling of the Austrian aristocracy, talented violinist, and daughter to a high-ranking member of the Third Reich, Adele risks everything when she begins smuggling Jews out of Vienna. In a heartbeat, her life of prosperity and privilege dissolves into a world of starvation and barbed wire.

As Sera untangles the secrets behind the painting, she finds beauty in the most unlikely of places: in the grim camps of Auschwitz and in the inner recesses of her own troubled heart.

My Review:

5 Stars!!!!!

Oh My, this book was just fantastic! It is easily one of my top 5 books of the year so far. This book just grabbed hold and didn't let go till the very end. The ending felt complete and I was satisfied and not left feeling like there should be more conclusion. So often at the end of a book I feel like there should be more or that the resolve happened to fast, not this book.

Every page tugged at my heart and kept me wanting to know more of the story. I loved how the past and present inter  twined. I was left guessing most of the way. Something I loved was the history in it. I never knew there were orchestras at the concentration camps and who got selected to be in them. For some that was the sole thing that saved them. But not just music but art of kinds happened in public and secret in those horrible places. It seems like you can never really know all of what happens in those horrid years. 

In conclusion, I recommend this book to all who love history and even those who don't. It is a powerful book that is happy and sad and more all at once. I can not wait for Kristy Cambrons next novel next year. Oh by the way she is a debut author but writes like an author that has been around for years.

* I received this book through Litfuse publicity for the purpose of this review.

Friday, July 25, 2014

Firewall by Diann Mills

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Firewall
Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. (July 1, 2014)
by
DiAnn Mills


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


DiAnn Mills believes her readers should “Expect an Adventure.” She is a fiction writer who combines an adventuresome spirit with unforgettable characters to create action-packed novels. Her books have won many awards through American Christian Fiction Writers, and she is the recipient of the Inspirational Reader’s Choice award for 2005, 2007, and 2010. She was a Christy Award finalist in 2008 and a Christy winner in 2010.

DiAnn is a founding board member for American Christian Fiction Writers, a member of Inspirational Writers Alive, Advanced Writers and Speakers Association, and is the Craftsman Mentor for the Christian Writer’s Guild. She speaks to various groups and teaches writing workshops.

DiAnn and her husband live in Houston, Texas. Visit her website or find her on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/diannmills


ABOUT THE BOOK

After a whirlwind romance, Taryn Young is preparing to board a plane at Houston International Airport, bound for a dream honeymoon, when a bomb decimates the terminal. Injured but still alive, she awakens to discover her husband is missing and they’re both considered prime suspects in the attack. Further, the FBI is convinced her husband isn’t who he appears to be.

Agent Grayson Hall’s number-one priority is to catch those responsible for the day’s act of terror. All evidence is pointing to Taryn and her new husband. But his instinct tells him her pleas of innocence are genuine. Is her naiveté just for show, or could she truly be another victim of a master scheme, possibly linked to the software she recently developed for her company?

With both their lives and reputations on the line, and the media outcry for justice increasing with each passing minute, Taryn and Grayson have no choice but to trust one another . . . and pray they can uncover the truth before they become two more casualties.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Firewall, go HERE.

My Review:

4 Stars

What an adventure this book is! From the very beginning this book had energy that kept me reading from page one to the end. Full of twists, turns, fear, wit and more this book is sure to entertain most readers out there.

I enjoyed the characters in this book and the adventure they were placed in. I felt DiAnn Mills did a great job at weaving in faith and forgiveness with out sounding preachy. Felt like every day life and every day situations. I usually find these kind of books to be fun and a break from the historical and contemporary romance/dramas that I normally read. I will admit that I can only read so many of these in a row but when I read them here and there they are super fun. I have read DiAnn Mills before and this book is just as good as others and I look forward to reading the rest in the series.

*I received this book through CFBA for the purpose of this review.

Thursday, July 10, 2014

All for a Sister by Allison Pittman

About the Book:

Genre: Historical

In Hollywood during the Roaring Twenties, Celeste DuFrane has it all. Her father’s work with color movie film opens doors that lead to the stardom she’s always aspired to. But after losing her mother, she discovers that half the estate has been left to a woman accused of killing Celeste’s baby sister before Celeste was even born.

Dana Lundgren arrives on the steps of the DuFrane mansion having spent most of her life imprisoned for a crime that never happened. After accusing her of murder so many years ago, why did Marguerite DuFrane leave her a sizeable inheritance?

As Celeste and Dana learn each other’s stories, they come up with more questions than answers. Then a surprising discovery begins to fill in the missing pieces: Marguerite DuFrane’s written confession, penned shortly before her death. Uncovering the treachery and deceit that changed the course of countless lives—most of all, their own—the two women find more than they ever dreamed of.

My Review:

4 Stars

All for a Sister is Allison Pittman's third book in her series set in the 1920's. Each book is completely stand alone but are all set in the same decade. I loved the first book in the series the best, All for a Song. This book was my second favorite in the series.

I really enjoyed aspects of this story but found all the jumping around very hard to follow at times. I loved hearing the story of the past versus what was happening in the present (as in 1925). Both Dana and Celeste are fun characters that have a unique connection. I felt bad for Dana for things she went through that wasn't her fault. I found all the connections to be fun and the biggest reason I kept on reading. 

Overall a fun book with a different writing style with some fun twists. Not necessarily my favorite book out there but not a waste of time either.

*I received this book from Tyndale Blog Network for the purpose of this review. Thank You!

Bridge to Haven by Francine Rivers

About the Book:

Genre: Contemporary

To those who matter in 1950s Hollywood, Lena Scott is the hottest rising star to hit the silver screen since Marilyn Monroe. Few know her real name is Abra. Even fewer know the price she’s paid to finally feel like she’s somebody.

To Pastor Ezekiel Freeman, Abra will always be the little girl who stole his heart the night he found her, a wailing newborn abandoned under a bridge on the outskirts of Haven. Zeke and his son, Joshua—Abra’s closest friend—watch her grow into an exotic beauty. But Zeke knows the circumstances surrounding her birth etched scars deep in her heart, scars that leave her vulnerable to a fast-talking bad boy who proclaims his love and lures her to Tinseltown. Hollywood feels like a million miles from Haven, and naive Abra quickly learns what’s expected of an ambitious girl with stars in her eyes. But fame comes at an awful price. She has burned every bridge to get exactly what she thought she wanted. Now, all she wants is a way back home.

In this riveting and highly anticipated tale of temptation, grace, and unconditional love,New York Times best-selling author Francine Rivers delivers big-canvas storytelling at its very best.

My Review:

5 Stars (Favorite Book of the Year)

When I hear the name Francine Rivers I think of amazing books that will suck me in and spit me out moved, emotional, sad, happy and so much. But, they really leave me wanting more. This book is no exception, from page one I was so invested and found myself reading at any spare minute I could find. 

I just loved the theme of redemption and love that ran throughout this book. Abra started life abandoned not once but in a way twice and it really hit her hard. She felt unwanted and unloved not realizing how many people really did love her and how much God loves her. Her choices put her on a path of fame with bad consequences. How and will she find her way home? Will she find God's love before its too late? Read this book to find out and so much more.

Fans of Francine River will love her newest book and be left wanting more in a good way. I just can't wait till she releases another book now. Great Job!

*I received this book from Tyndale for the purpose of this review.


Wednesday, July 9, 2014

A Table by the Window by Hillary Manton Lodge

About the Book:

Genre: Contemporary/Women's Fiction

Book 1 of the Two Blue Doors Series

Heirloom recipes, family secrets…and a chance for love

The youngest heir to a French-Italian restaurant dynasty, food writer Juliette D’Alisa has spent her life negotiating her skill with words and her restaurant aspirations. When her brother Nico offers her a chance to open a restaurant together, she feels torn—does she really have what it takes? Should she risk leaving her journalism career?

After the death of her grandmother, Juliette discovers an antique photograph of a man who looks strikingly like her brother. As the truth behind the picture reveals romance and dark secrets, Juliette struggles to keep the mystery away from her nosy family until she can uncover the whole story.

Inspired by her grandmother’s evolving story, Juliette resolves to explore the world of online dating. To her surprise, she finds a kindred spirit in Neil McLaren, a handsome immunologist based in Memphis, Tennessee. With a long-distance relationship simmering, Juliette faces life-shifting decisions. How can she possibly choose between a promising culinary life and Neil, a man a world away in more ways than one? And is it possible her Grandmother’s story can help show the way?

My Review:

4 Stars

Hillary Manton Lodge starts her new three book series with a bang! A Table by the Window was such a fun read and didn't feel like so many of the other books our there. I just loved the tie in with cooking and the recipes found in each chapter. It was almost like a story and cook book all in one. I know at some point I would love to try some of the recipes that came alive while reading the book. I found this to be a great and easy read that kept me turning the pages. I am so looking forward to the rest of this series.

Food, Fun and Romance what more can you ask for in a great book. Looking for a new book to read, don't look any further and grab this great book.

*I received this book from Blogging for Books for the purpose of this review. Thank You!

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I'm No Angel

About the Book:

Genre: Biography/Memoir

In December 2011, 21-year-old Victoria’s Secret Runway Angel Kylie Bisutti stunned the fashion industry when she chose faith over fame and fortune and made the switch from supermodel to role model.

In I’m No Angel, Kylie shares her story—from her early years as she struggled to make it big in the cutthroat world of modeling, to her “big break” winning the Victoria’s Secret Runway Angel competition, to the disillusionment and spiritual warfare that followed. After finally realizing that she could no longer reconcile her career with her Christian beliefs, she surrendered her life to God and dedicated her life to preaching a message of modesty and inner beauty.

Along the way, Kylie talks about her personal struggles with inadequacy, low self-esteem, and her near-constant quest for approval in a world where you can never be thin enough, pretty enough, or sexy enough. She helps readers understand that true beauty lies within and that real fulfillment comes from knowing, loving, and serving Christ.

My Review:

4.5 Stars

Wow, what a fascinating and eye opening story. Kylie just wants to pursue her dream of modeling and follow Jesus but as you would guess those two goals can be rather conflicting. Throughout her career she faces many challenges, deceit and situations that would make most of comfortable. Through her journey she learned that the industry is ruthless and will say whatever they want to keep their image, even at the expense of the models. I found it interesting hearing what it take to be a VS angel and the role they must place. To be honest it has made me never want to support the company in any way. I hope many will read this book and have their eyes opened wide to this industry and more. 

Monday, June 16, 2014

Saving Amelie by Cathy Gohlke

About the Book:

Genre: Historical

Increasingly wary of her father’s genetic research, Rachel Kramer has determined that this trip with him to Germany—in the summer of 1939—will be her last. But a cryptic letter from her estranged friend, begging Rachel for help, changes everything. Married to SS officer Gerhardt Schlick, Kristine sees the dark tides turning and fears her husband views their daughter, Amelie, deaf since birth, as a blight on his Aryan bloodline.

Once courted by Schlick, Rachel knows he’s as dangerous as the swastikas that hang like ebony spiders from every government building in Berlin. She fears her father’s files may hold answers about Hitler’s plans for others, like Amelie, whom the regime deems “unworthy of life.” She risks searching his classified documents only to uncover shocking secrets about her own history and a family she’s never known.

Now hunted by the SS, Rachel turns to Jason Young—a driven, disarming American journalist and unlikely ally—who connects her to the resistance and to controversial theologian Dietrich Bonhoeffer. Forced into hiding, Rachel’s every ideal is challenged as she and Jason walk a knife’s edge, risking their lives—and asking others to do the same—for those they barely know but come to love.

My Review:

5 Stars

I have read all Cathy Gohlke's books and each one is fantastic and better than the last. When I first heard she was releasing a new book I knew I had to read it. Almost as soon as I got it in the mail I started to devour this powerful and emotional story. Like all of Cathy's books a few tears will be shed and your heart twisted but by the end you are so invested in it that it is worth the good ending.

Saving Amelie is set in WWII era Germany and speaks about Hitlers goal to make a perfect Aryan race. We all know how much he hated the Jews but what gets forgotten is that He also hated anyone that He didn't deem perfect: handicap, deaf, blind, you get the picture. This is such a powerful read that will really make you think and feel for the people and what happened back then. 

This is so not a easy beach read book but one that challenges your brain and twists your emotions. I highly recommend this book to all of Cathy's fans, those who love reading books set in that time frame or someone that is up for an emotional book filled with accurate history and fantastic characters that show the strength they need to survive and fight. Great job Cathy on another fantastic book.

* I received this book through the Tyndale Blog Network for the purpose of this review.

Born of Persusasion by Jessica Dotta

About the Book:

Genre: Historical

Book 1 in Price of Privilege Series

The year is 1838, and seventeen-year-old Julia Elliston’s position has never been more fragile. Orphaned and unmarried in a time when women are legal property of their fathers, husbands, and guardians, she finds herself at the mercy of an anonymous guardian who plans to establish her as a servant in far-off Scotland.

With two months to devise a better plan, Julia’s first choice to marry her childhood sweetheart is denied. But when a titled dowager offers to introduce Julia into society, a realm of possibilities opens. However, treachery and deception are as much a part of Victorian society as titles and decorum, and Julia quickly discovers her present is deeply entangled with her mother’s mysterious past. Before she knows what’s happening, Julia finds herself a pawn in a deadly game between two of the country’s most powerful men. With no laws to protect her, she must unravel the secrets on her own. But sometimes truth is elusive and knowledge is deadly.

My Review:

3 Stars

Born of Persuasion is Jessica Dotta's debut novel and it is detail and lengthy. This book is definitely geared towards older adults who enjoy the great detail and style of older classical literature. After reading the description of the book I was excited to read this book but found myself having a hard time getting into this book and keeping all the details straight. In the end I enjoyed the book and will read more in the series but overall not my favorite style. I know for sure some will love this book but just be warned that it is not a light easy read at all.
 

All for a Story by Allison Pittman

About the Book:

Genre: Historical Romance

Monica Bisbaine loves being a modern girl in the Roaring Twenties. Her job writing a gossip column allows her access to all the local speakeasys in Washington, D.C., where she can dance the night away—and find fodder for her next article. But when the owner of the Capitol Chatter newspaper passes away, Monica wonders what will happen to her job, and the lifestyle she loves.

Max Moore may hold the title of editor-in-chief for evangelist Aimee Semple McPherson’s paper, The Bridal Call, but Aimee calls all the shots. So when Max learns that his great-uncle has passed away, leaving him all his earthly possessions, Max resigns and heads to D.C. Determined to take over the Capitol Chatter, infuse it with his values, and turn it into a respectable paper, Max is soon bumping up against the equally determined Monica Bisbane.

Under Max’s direction, Monica embarks on her most challenging assignment yet: infiltrating and reporting on the Anti-Flirt Society. Though reluctant at first, as Monica meets and mingles with the young women of the club, she begins to question the innocence of her flirtatious lifestyle. And when romance begins to blossom between Max and Monica, she must choose where her loyalties lie: with the young women of the society or the alluring pull of the speakeasy and its inhabitants.

My Review:

4.5 Stars

I just love Allison Pittman's books and always look forward to the next. This book is in the same era as All for A Song, but reads fairly well as a stand alone book. I will say that I loved the first book but this one was slower for me to get into but I did enjoy the story and looked forward to the next book in the series, All for A Sister.

I will say I found Monica hard to relate to. A girl determined to do as she wants and go against what she is told to do. She is very resistant at first to anything that affects her lifestyle but over time will she come around? She has a lot to learn and very stubborn just hard to relate to for some.

*I received this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review. Thank You.

Still Lolo

Still Lolo by Lauren Scruggs

About the Book:

In December 2011, Lauren (“LoLo”) Scruggs, a 23-year-old fashion journalist, suffered a sudden injury that made headlines around the world. She had been on a short flight to look at Christmas lights and, upon exiting the small plane, was hit by the still-moving propeller blade. A frantic 911 call, several major surgeries, and thousands of prayers later: Lauren lived. But she lost her left hand and left eye. And she had to face some incredibly difficult questions: What kind of future will I have? Where is God in all this pain? Will anyone ever be able to love me now? In Still LoLo, Lauren speaks out for the first time since her accident. She and her family reveal what really happened that night, what Lauren’s life is like today, what got them through their journey toward healing, and how they conquered all odds to persevere as a family. It’s a compelling and fiercely beautiful story of faith, determination, and staying true to who you are—no matter what.

My Review:

4 Stars

What an inspiring story that is written from the heart. I found this to be a fast read that was uplifting and encouraging without being preachy. I absolutely loved how it is written from not only the view point of Lauren but also from her family and it doesn't just deal with the accident and how she handled it, it also told the story of her and her twin growing up and how it shaped her to be who she is today. Without her past, the way she handled the accident may have been totally different. I loved how the message is that Lauren is still the same person even if physically she has some scars and challenges to overcome. At the end of the day what makes Lauren Lauren is still the same.

This is a short, a little over 200 pages read that so many people could love and be inspired by. This book will make you want to meet her and hear her story right from her own mouth. I highly recommend this book to everyone who like a good memoir/biography type book and wants to be encouraged that God uses you just as you are and He uses your trials to help others. 

*I received this book from Tyndale for the purpose of this review.

Sunday, June 15, 2014

Just 18 Summers by Rene Gutteridge & Michelle Cox

About the Book:

Genre: Contemporary

After the tragic death of Butch Browning’s wife, Jenny, four families begin to realize how precious—and fleeting—their time together is. Each is at a different stage in life: Butch is facing single parenthood. The O’Reillys are expecting their first child. The Andersons are approaching an empty nest, and the Buckleys are so focused on providing their children with everything that they’ve forgotten what they truly need. With just eighteen summers before their children are grown, how do they make the most of that time when life so often gets in the way?

As summer flies by, each of these parents must learn about guilt and grace . . . and when to hold on to their kids and when to let go.

My Review:

3.5 Stars

Just 18 Summers is based on a screenplay and will be a movie in the future. This novel deal with the fact that we only have so long with our children and to make the time count. This is something that all parents deal with and its easy to miss what counts. Each of the four families in this novel are in different stages of parenting but in the end they all need to learn the same things. What we think is best for them may not be, and sometimes the hardest things in life is what teaches them the most.

This novel has a great message and while I enjoyed reading it I think it will make a much better movie. There were so many narratives going on that at times it was confusing to figure out what was going on. I do look forward to seeing it play out it front of me and I do believe it will deliver a strong message. I would have like the book to be easy to follow and maybe have been more a series of four books with each book focusing on each family and how they intersect with the others.

This is a great book for anyone with kids or planning to have them and will leave you thinking. Its a drama that is clean and in ways could make a great book club book. Great job authors! Now to wait for the movie.

* I received this book through the Tyndale Blog Network for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

All My Belongings by Cynthia Ruchti

About the Book:

Genre: Contemporary Romance

A new life and a new identity can’t protect Becca from a past that refuses to go away.

After spending years running from the shame her father put on her family, Jayne is determined not to let him steal her future in the same way he stole her childhood. Changing her name to Becca Morrow, she moves to California and settles into a new life and new job caring for ailing mother of handsome young businessman, Isaac Hughes.

But just as she’s wondering if she and Isaac are headed for a relationship, Becca’s patient passes away under unusual circumstances. Suddenly, her past catches up with her and the unnerving details of her heritage threaten to destroy all sense of home and all hope for love.

Even if she could clear her name, a phone call wraps a suffocating shroud around her heart. Her estranged father needs her help. But can Becca open her new life to the man who ruined her past?

My Review:

4 Stars

This is the first book I have read from Cynthia Ruchti and I am look forward to reading more of her books in the future. I enjoyed every page of this book and was really drawn to Becca. Wow the situation she had to deal with. I thought the author did a wonderful job at dealing with a tough subject but keeping it fun (and even funny at times). She didn't make the read just feel depressed about the book. She threw in so much in this book (adoption, identity, and more) with a few twists too. By the end I really felt like I knew the main characters and was sad for it to end. Would love to read more about them.

Fans of Cynthia I am sure will love this book as well as anyone that loves a good contemporary romance. Great job!

* I received this book through Litfuse Publicity for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

Cynthia Ruchti asks what it takes to overcome your past and become who you were meant to be in her latest novel, All My Belongings. Cynthia has woven a heart-wrenching tale of forgiveness, grace, and learning what it means to truly belong.

Cynthia is celebrating the release of her latest novel with a fun giveaway and a live webcast event!
allmybelongings-400-click
 
One winner will receive:
  • A $200 Visa cash card
  • All My Belongings by Cynthia Ruchti
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on June 11th. Winner will be announced at the All My Belongings LIVE webcast event on June 11th. Connect with Cynthia for an evening of book chat, trivia, laughter, and more! Cynthia will also be taking questions from the audience and giving away books, fun prizes, and gift certificates throughout the evening.
So grab your copy of All My Belongings and join Cynthia and friends on the evening of June 11th for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven't read the book, don't let that stop you from coming!)

Don't miss a moment of the fun; RSVP today by signing up for a reminder. Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 11th!

Monday, June 9, 2014

Noah and the Mighty Ark Children's Picture Book

About the Book:

Genre: Children's Picture Book

The beloved Bible story of Noah and his ark is brought to life with lyrical rhyming text by bestselling author Rhonda Gowler Greene and whimsical illustrations by award-winning artist Margaret Spengler. Children will love hearing how Noah comforts all the animals on their journey, whether they fly, hop, crawl, stomp, or s-s-slither. Full of fun sound effects and helpful word pictures, Noah and the Mighty Ark is great for toddlers, preschoolers, and early readers, as well as parents who want an engaging way to teach their children the stories of God.

My Review:

4 Stars

This book by Rhonda Green follows after her last book, One Lost Sheep, and is just as beautiful with a great story. Each beautifully illustrated page by Margeret Spangler brings the story of Noah's Ark to life and is sure to delight both parents and children. I love how the pictures are whimsical and attractive to kids. I was also pleased to find that the story was accurately told and even gives the verses at the beginning. While the suggested age is 4-8 I think it would work for a much larger audience.

Needing a gift for a child in your life, church library needing some fresh books or just because its a great book, whatever the reason be sure to gran a copy of this book. I hope this team keeps producing these great books.

*I received this book from Book Look Bloggers for the purpose of this review. Thank You!

Friday, June 6, 2014

While Love Stirs by Lorna Seilstad

About the Book:

Genre: Historical Romance

Book 2 in The Gregory Sisters Series

Take one lovely young woman.
Add two ambitious young men.
Stir . . . and stand back.

As a graduate of Fannie Farmer's School of Cookery, Charlotte Gregory is thrilled to have the opportunity to travel, lecture, and give cooking demonstrations on the very latest kitchen revolution--the gas stove. And she certainly doesn't mind that the gas company has hired the kindhearted Lewis Mathis to entertain at her lectures.

Lewis encourages Charlotte's work, especially her crusade to introduce fresh, appetizing, nutritious food to those convalescing in hospitals. But young hospital superintendent Dr. Joel Brooks is not convinced any changes should be made--especially by this outspoken young woman.

When Charlotte and Joel are coerced into planning a fund-raising gala for the hospital, will this combustible pair explode?

Follow the second Gregory sister as she looks for true love and makes her way in a rapidly changing world in this breezy, lighthearted love triangle that will keep you guessing.

My Review:

4.5 Stars

Everytime I pick up Lorna Seilstad's newest book I remember how much I love her books. She packs so much fun in her books that it is hard to not like them. Romance, humor, friendship, faith, history and more are packed in her books. While Love Stirs is the second book in The Gregory Sisters series but it can be read on its own. Each book in the seires deals with a different series so there is overlap but not so much that you would be lost. Though I do recommend to read them in order since they are so good.

I highly recommend this book and series, as well as her previous series to all historical romance fans and those looking for a new author to read. Grab this book and find a comfy spot and enjoy this fun story.

*I received this book from Revell Reads for the purpose of this review. Thank You!

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Until I Found You by Victoria Bylin

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Until I Found You
Bethany House Publishers (May 6, 2014)
by
Victoria Bylin


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: A word from the Author:

This may sound crazy, but I was driven to write romance by giant bugs and killer rabbits. I just couldn't take it anymore. My husband and two sons would be camped in front of the television watching a movie about spiders the size of bowling balls, and I'd be wondering when the handsome scientist would get around to kissing the spunky woman with the bug spray. When it didn't happen, I decided to write my own happy endings--without the giant bugs...

Known for her realistic, likable characters and vivid writing, Victoria Bylin writes both western and contemporary inspirational romance. Her books have finaled in the ACFW Carol Awards, the Rita Awards and RT Magazine’s Reviewers’ Choice Awards. She and her husband currently live in Lexington, Kentucky and have two grown sons.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Finding each other was only the beginning . . .

When Kate Darby swerves off a mountain road to avoid hitting a California condor, she ends up trapped in her car, teetering on the edge of a cliff. Terrified, she breathes a prayer that changes her life.

It's Nick Sheridan who comes to Kate's rescue. Nick is handsome and confident, and he seems to develop a habit of rescuing her, but Kate is in town only until her grandmother recuperates from a stroke. She's not planning to get involved with one of the locals.

Nick is a reformed veteran of life in the fast lane, a new Christian, and a travel writer. When he sees a car dangling on the edge of a cliff, the daredevil in him jumps into action. He doesn't expect to be swept off his feet by the car's occupant. He's made a vow--no dating for a year--but keeping that vow is going to be a lot more difficult now that he's met Kate Darby. . . .

If you'd like to read the first chapter of Until I Found You, go HERE.

Daises are Forever by Liz Tolsma + Litfuse Giveaway

About the book:

Genre: Historical

Gisela Cramer is an American living in eastern Germany with her cousin Ella Reinhardt. When the Red Army invades, they must leave their home to escape to safety in Berlin.

However, Ella is a nurse and refuses to leave, sending her young daughters with Gisela. During their journey, Gisela meets Mitch Edwards, an escaped British POW. She pretends she is his wife in order to preserve his safety among other Germans, especially one wounded German soldier, Kurt, who has suspicions about Mitch’s identity. Kurt also has feelings for Gisela and tries to uncover the truth about her “marriage.”

Their journey to Gisela’s mother in Berlin is riddled with tragedy and hardship, but they strive to keep Ella’s daughters safe so they can reunite with their mother. During the journey Gisela and Mitch begin to develop feelings for one another beyond friendship. They reach Berlin, but their struggles are far from over. Gisela and Mitch must learn to live for the day and find hope in the darkest of circumstances.

In this moving, historically accurate portrayal of WWII Germany, the characters learn that, even with destruction all around them, some things last forever.

My Review:

3.5/4 Stars

I just loved the history in this novel, and loved how much research Liz Tolsma did to keep it accurate. This novel really showed a different side to the war. We all know what the Nazi's did to the Jews but it is easy to forget how many innocent Germans, and not so innocent, suffered towards the end of the war. Life was pretty miserable for all back then.

All the characters in this novel really had to fight, show love, respect and sacrifice to survive. As the pages turned I could feel their fear, almost smell and imagine the sites they were seeing. All I can say is I can't even imagine what it would have been like to be in that situation. This is not a light read at all, very deep and emotional but an excellent novel.

*I received this book through Litfuse for the purpose of this review. Thank You!

Liz Tolsma's latest WWII historical fiction novel, Daisies are Forever, is getting rave reviews. 

". . . compelling and fast-paced tale about the atrocities and tremendous losses. . . ." —Library Journal

"Excellent storytelling, accurate historical reporting and gritty, persevering characters make this WWII-era novel a must-read." —CBA Retailers + Resources


daisies-400-click
Liz celebrating the release with a Kindle HDX giveaway!
One winner will receive:
  • A Kindle Fire HDX
  • Daisies are Forever by Liz Tolsma
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on May 31st. Winner will be announced June 2nd on Liz's website.

Don't miss a moment of the fun; enter today and be sure to stop by Liz's website on June 2nd to see if you won.

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Fatal Exchange by Lisa Harris

About the Book:

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Book 2 in Southern Crimes

Desperate times create desperate people. And desperate people are dangerous . . .

Though Emily Hunt comes from a family of cops, the relatively quiet life of a high school teacher suits her just fine. She's saving up to buy a house, slowly moving forward after her brother's death, and settling into a life she loves. So the last person she wants to spend time with is Mason Taylor.

An undercover cop, Mason is enemy number one as far as her family is concerned. His involvement in the death of Emily's brother is still up in the air, and now he expects her to help him with a case. Mason has been working with one of her students, Rafael Cerda, whose brother has been kidnapped by a drug cartel. And with time running out to meet their demands, Rafael is getting desperate.

Emily will have to draw on all of her strength to handle what happens next . . .

Fatal Exchange will draw you into a complex matrix of intertwining lives, unraveling secrets, and unexpected love.

My review:

4 Stars

Lisa Harris' debut novel lest me wanting for more and her newest book delivers. I recommend reading book one before this one, but it can work on its own. Twists, turns, mystery and thrill are just some elements you will find in this book. As with her first book this is a complete page turner. Once I started I couldn't stop till I plowed straight through to the ending. I found Lisa Harris did a fantastic job of tying in Faith with each of her characters, they all have their lessons they need to learn and grow in different ways but it is there.

Fantastic novel from a great semi-new author that deserves to be checked out by any one that enjoys a good romantic suspense, your really can't go wrong. I know I can't wait to see how things all tie together in book 3 and conclusion to this series.

* I received this book from Revell Reads for the purpose of this review. My honest opinion was all that was expected.