Monday, October 29, 2012

A Farmer's Daughter by Dawn Stoltzfus

About the Book:

Over 200 mouthwatering recipes--fresh from the farm

I'm Dawn Stoltzfus. Welcome to my kitchen! I was raised on a Mennonite farm where simple, wholesome food was a key ingredient of the good life. Now I'm opening up my recipe box, wiping away the crumbs and wrinkles from the well-loved recipe cards, and sharing them with you. From Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls and Strawberry Shortcake to Old-Fashioned Beef Stew and Chicken and Herb Dumplings, all the best comfort foods I learned to cook from my mother are here, along with some dishes that may surprise you!

In addition to the simple, wholesome recipes for starters, main dishes, sides, and desserts, I share favorite stories from my Mennonite upbringing, tips and tricks for easy meal planning and preparation, and ideas for serving with flair.

If you enjoy feeding your family hearty, wholesome meals made with fresh ingredients and lots of love, please join me in the kitchen! 
 My Review:
 5 Stars
 I love, love, love this cookbook. This is one my my new favorite cookbooks. There are so many recipes I want to try in it, that it can be hard to decide which one to do next. I have tried three recipes so far with many more flagged to try in the future. My favorite so far was the Chicken and Herb Dumplings. This dish was so delicious and made great leftovers, it had a great balance of veggies and chicken. The flavor was so good that it is hard to stop eating.
So many times I am disappointed in cookbooks. Either the recipes don't come out good or they are made of simply dumping cans together or using a box mix and adding something to it. When I want to cook I want to cook a real meal and this cookbook is great for that person. It is full of recipes that use fresh ingredients and are simple enough for the busy person or the new cook. I loved all the little notes the author includes which range from tips on making the dish or where the meal came from.
If you are tired of the same old cookbooks and want something fresh make sure you pick up this great cookbook. The only downside I can even come up with is there is no pictures, but everything else is so great that you will hardly care in the end.
 *I received this book from Revell books for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

A Wreath of Snow by Liz Curtis Higgs

About the Book:

All Margaret Campbell wants for Christmas is a safe journey home. When her plans for a festive holiday with her family in Stirling crumble beneath the weight of her brother’s bitterness, the young schoolteacher wants nothing more than to return to the students she loves and the town house she calls home.

Then an unexpected detour places her in the path of Gordon Shaw, a handsome newspaperman from Glasgow, who struggles under a burden of remorse and shame.

When the secret of their shared history is revealed, will it leave them tangled in a knot of regret? Or might their past hold the threads that will bind their future together?

As warm as a woolen scarf on a cold winter’s eve, A Wreath of Snow is a tender story of love and forgiveness, wrapped in a celebration of all things Scottish, all things Victorian, and, especially, all things Christmas.

My Review:

4 Stars

To start of with I just have to comment on how lovely this book looks. The cover is breathtaking, the fact that it is hardcover makes it so much better. This is on of those books that is great to read but also would make a great decoration for Christmas time. I received this book this afternoon and quickly jumped right into it. I was drawn in the setting, which is described in such wonderful detail, and the story so quickly that I knew I would finish it this evening . This is a short Christmas novella that will be cherished by many. I loved the the theme of forgiveness, both giving it and receiving it, and the sweet subtle romance that starts to bud at the end. In conclusion, this is a sweet story that will warm you heart during this Christmas season and many to come.

* I received this book through Blogging for Books for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

Friday, October 26, 2012

A Light in the Window by Julie Lessman

About the Book:

One Woman. Two Men.
One stirs her pulse and the other her faith.
But who will win her heart?

Marceline Murphy is a gentle beauty with a well-founded aversion to rogues. But when two of Boston's most notorious pursue her, she encounters a tug-of-war of the heart she isn’t expecting. Sam O’Rourke is the childhood hero she’s pined for, the brother of her best friend and a member of the large, boisterous family to which she longs to be a part. So when his best friend Patrick O’Connor joins in pursuit of her affections, the choice seems all too clear. Sam is from a family of faith and Patrick is not, two rogues whose wild ways clash head-on with Marcy’s—both in her faith and in her heart.

While overseeing the Christmas play fundraiser for the St. Mary’s parish soup kitchen—A Light in the Window—Marcy not only wrestles with her attraction to both men, but with her concern for their spiritual welfare. The play is based on the Irish custom of placing a candle in the window on Christmas Eve to welcome the Holy Family, and for Marcy, its message becomes deeply personal. Her grandmother Mima cautions her to guard her heart for the type of man who will respond to the "light in the window," meaning the message of Christ in her heart. But when disaster strikes during the play, Marcy is destined to discover the truth of the play’s message first-hand when it becomes clear that although two men have professed their undying love, only one has truly responded to “the light in the window.”

My Review:

5 Stars

What a great prequel to six fantastic books. A Light in the Window takes place years before A Passion most Pure and shares with us how Marcy and Patrick. I loved this book just as much as the rest of Julie's books. It was much shorter, sweeter and simple but still the book was filled with drama, romance and a great message. I love how Julie weaves into each of her stories a message about God and what he wants from us. Many of the times it is something that I or someone I know needs to hear and take to heart.

I greatly enjoyed watching Marcy deal with her feelings about Sam and Patrick and watching them fight over her. Even with knowing who she would end up with the journey to get there was worth every page. I absolutely loved the epilogue and it made me want for more and hear about the early years of their marriage. I personally do not think there could be enough books written about the wonderful and passionate O'Connor family.

This is a great book for those new to Julie's books and a great way to begin the journey with the wonderful O'Connors. For those that have read all her books, it makes a great prequel.

* I received a PDF copy of this book from the author for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

The Bridge by Karen Kingsbury + Giveaway

About the Book:

Number one New York Times bestselling author Karen Kingsbury delivers an instant classic with this heartwarming Christmas story about a hundred-year flood, lost love, and the beauty of enduring friendships.

Molly Allen lives alone in Portland, but she left her heart back in Tennessee with a man she walked away from five years ago. They had a rare sort of love she hasn’t found since.

Ryan Kelly lives in Nashville after a broken engagement and several years on the road touring with a country music duo. He can still hear Molly’s voice encouraging him to follow his dreams; Molly, whose memory stays with him. At least he can visit The Bridge—the oldest bookstore in historic downtown Franklin—and remember the hours he and Molly once spent there.

For thirty years, Charlie and Donna Barton have run The Bridge, providing the people of middle Tennessee with coffee, conversation, and shelves of good books—even through dismal book sales and the rise of digital books. Then in May, the hundred-year flood swept through Franklin and destroyed nearly every book in the store.

 Now the bank is pulling the lease on The Bridge. Despondent and without answers, Charlie considers the unthinkable. Then tragedy strikes, and suddenly, everything changes. In the face of desperate brokenness and lost opportunities, could the miracle of a second chance actually unfold?

The Bridge is a love story set against the struggle of the American bookstore, a love story you will never forget.

My Review:

4 Stars

What a sweet and simple Christmas book from beloved bestseller Karen Kingsbury. The Bridge will remind you that miracles are possible and that there is still hope in the world. This is a great book to read this Christmas season and really throughout the year. It is nice how it is short and great for those so busy that longer books just never seem to get finished.

This book in many ways is a lot different than her normal full length novels as it is much simpler and sweeter. But, those that love Karen Kingsbury will still find joy in this book and will want to add it to their collection.

I really enjoyed reading the back story of Ryan and Molly and seeing where their lives went and how The Bridge bookstore brought them back together. I will admit reading about the bookstore made me wish we still had more of these small town bookstores that bring the community together and a place to share the love of books, both old and new.

Make sure you add this book to your reading list and enjoy in this story.

*I received this book through Howard Books for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

 Giveaway info:

1. Must live in US.
2. Leave a comment with your e-mail address.
3. Ends Tuesday,  October 30th!

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Accidentally Amish by Olivia Newport

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Accidentally Amish
Barbour Books (October 1, 2012)
Olivia Newport


A Word From The Author:

I’m imagining you. You walk past as I water my front flowerbeds and we wave. You check the time as we both stand in a long line at the grocery store. You sit in front of me in church. I’m at my table in the coffee shop and you’re at yours.

We may smile politely and move on with our separate lives. Or one of us may speak, a simple invitation to conversation, and the words flow between us.

Here the adventure begins. When we meet someone new, we never know where it might lead.

I’ve been married for over thirty years and have two twenty-something kids. We live in stunning Colorado at the foot of the Rockies, where the day lilies in my back yard grow as tall as I am. (No short jokes, please.)

Not every piece of my life is pretty, though. Some days I want to throw out whole chunks. But I am living each day looking for the grace of God to me, in me, and through me. Having your companionship along the way will help uncover a lot of great stories.

Thanks for stopping by my site, where conversations and adventures begin with a click. I hope we’ll run into each other often.


Escape the helter-skelter of the modern culture and join software creator Annie Friesen, hiding at the home of an Amishman. With her high-tech career in jeopardy, Annie runs from fast-paced Colorado Springs—and straight into the hospitality of San Luis Valley’s Amish community. There she meets cabinetmaker Rufus Beiler, and the more time she spends with him, the more attracted she becomes. When Annie finds she shares a common ancestor with Rufus, she feels both cultures colliding within her. But is her love for Rufus strong enough for her to give up the only life she’s ever known?

If you would like to read the first chapter of Accidentally Amish, go HERE.

My Review:

4.5 Stars

Englisch collides with Amish in this first book in Olivia Newport's newest series, Valley of Dreams. Set in both present day and in the past this is a great read that has a little of everything. I really found myself enjoying this story. I just loved the historical part of the story as much as the main story. Many times when authors mix past and present I find myself more interested in one story or the other, but not with this book they were both great. I loved Annie and the journey she took and the decisions she made in the end. I am greatly looking forward to the next book in this series and hope I do not have to wait to long.

Cultures collide when Annie discovers a common ancestor with an Amish man, Rufus. Does this modern woman have family history in the Amish culture and how is she connected to Rufus. This and more you will find in this fast paced read.

* I received this book through CFBA and the publisher for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

You Don't Know Me by Susan May Warren

About the Book:

A Deep Haven Novel

Sometimes the secrets we keep to protect ourselves can be our undoing.

To all who know her, Annalise Decker is a model wife and mother. She’s a permanent member of the PTA, never misses a sporting event, and is constantly campaigning for her husband’s mayoral race.

No one knows that Annalise was once Deidre O’Reilly, a troubled young woman whose testimony put a dangerous criminal behind bars. Relocated through the Witness Security Program to the quaint harbor town of Deep Haven, Deidre received a new identity and a fresh start, which began when she fell in love with local real estate agent Nathan Decker.

Twenty years later, Annalise couldn’t be more unprepared for her past to catch up with her. When Agent Frank Harrison arrives with news that the man she testified against is out on parole and out for revenge, Annalise is forced to face the consequences of her secrets. Will she run again, or will she finally find the courage to trust those she loves most with both her past and her future?

Meet Susan:

Susan May Warren is the RITA award-winning novelist of over thirty novels. A five-time Christy award finalist, a two-time RITA Finalist, she’s also a multi-winner of the Inspirational Readers Choice award, and the ACFW Carol Award.

A seasoned women’s events speaker, she’s a popular writing teacher at conferences around the nation and the author of the beginning writer’s workbook: From the Inside-Out: discover, create and publish the novel in you!.

Find out more about Susan May at
My Review:

5 Stars

What a fantastic book this was! From the back cover to the first pages this book had me hooked and kept my brain thinking for days on end. I found this book to be a fast read since I couldn't wait to find out how it would all turn out. This is the type of book that really makes you think and wonder what it would be like to be in Annalise's shoes. Can you imagine having to change your name, identity, where you live, and how you do things? Well that is just what Annalise had to do years ago when she went into the witness protection program. No one could know her life as a kid and teenager, nothing from her past could be divulged since anything could potentially hurt her or those she loved. After finishing this book it kept making me think about that situation and how there could be someone you met in your life that could be part of the witness protection program and you would never know it.

I highly recommend this book to everyone, part suspense, part romance, there is something for all. While this book is part of the Deep Haven series it can easily be read as a standalone. Great job Susan May Warren on a thought provoking and excellent book!

*I received this book through Tyndale and LitFuse for the purpose of this review.

Giveaway Info:
Welcome to the campaign launch for Susan May Warren's latest offering in her beloved Deep Haven series, You Don't Know Me. Susan is celebrating with a $200 Weekend Getaway Giveaway and hosting a fun video Author Chat Party!

One fortunate winner will receive:
  • A $200 Visa Gift Card (Use that to catch up with a loved one and “Get to Know” your spouse, friend, sister, mom…whomever!)
  • The entire set of Deep Haven Books
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on October 22nd. Winner will be announced at the ”You Don’t Know Me” Author Chat Facebook Party on 10/23. Connect with Susan for an evening of book chat, Deep Haven trivia, and a live video chat! There will also be info about Susan’s BookShout read-along and a chance to win gift certificates, books, and other fun prizes!

So grab your copy of You Don’t Know Me and join Susan on the evening of the October 23rd for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven’t read the books – don’t let that stop you from coming!)

Don't miss a moment of the fun, RSVP todayTell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 23rd!

Thursday, October 18, 2012

The Girl in Glass by Susan Meissner

About the Book:

Renaissance is a word with hope infused in every letter.

Since she was a child, Meg has dreamed of taking a promised trip to Florence, Italy, and being able to finally step into the place captured in a picture at her grandmother’s house. But after her grandmother passes away and it falls to her less-than-reliable father to take her instead, Meg’s long-anticipated travel plans seem permanently on hold.

When her dad finally tells Meg to book the trip, she prays that the experience will heal the fissures left on her life by her parents’ divorce. But when Meg arrives in Florence, her father is nowhere to be found, leaving aspiring memoir-writer Sophia Borelli to introduce Meg to the rich beauty of the ancient city. Sofia claims to be one of the last surviving members of the Medici family and that a long-ago Medici princess, Nora Orsini, communicates with her from within the great masterpieces of the Italian Renaissance.

When Sophia, Meg, and Nora’s stories intersect, their lives will be indelibly changed as they each answer the question: What if renaissance isn’t just a word? What if that’s what happens when you dare to believe that what is isn’t what has to be?

My Review:

After reading A Sound Among the Trees last year I just knew I could not wait to read Susan Meissnerr's next book and while the wait was not fun it was definitely worth it. I love Susan's ability to blend a contemporary story with a historical story, some authors try but do not succeed, but Susan has figured it out. I absolutely loved the setting of Florence, Italy, but who wouldn't in all reality. While I have been to Italy, I have not been to Florence but reading this book makes me want to go all the more.

I really enjoyed the stories of each of the women and how they all intersected. It really made it hard for me to put the book down since I just wanted to know more and more. I was almost a little sad when the story ended, but journey was so worth it.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who like contemporary, historical or both since the book has something for all. If you are looking for a strict romance this book may not be for you, but you should still give it a try.

* I received this book through Blogging for Books for the purpose of this review.

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

The Guest Book by Marybeth Whalen

About the Book:

Twenty-five years after she began exchanging drawings with a mysterious boy in the guest book of a Carolina beach house, Macy Dillon is back at Sunset Beach---this time toting a hurting heart and a broken family. Will she be able find the man whose drawings moved her so deeply when she was a child? Questions of childhood, loss, and longing for love are explored in author Marybeth Whalen’s touching and thought-provoking, The Guest Book.

My Review:

3 stars

A romance set in a beach setting, with a little mystery seemed like a great combination of fun but to me it fell short. When I started the book I was super excited and expected to thoroughly enjoy it but as the story progressed I slowly lost interest. I have read She  Makes it Look Easy by the same author and really enjoyed that book and the message it portrayed but there just wasn't much substance to this book for me. I know there are many out there that will enjoy this book more than me which is great! Overall I will most likely read more from Marybeth Whalen in the future.

* I received this book from Zondervan for the purpose of this review.

Sunday, October 14, 2012

A Love Surrendered by Julie Lessman

About the Book:

Orphaned in Iowa, Annie Kennedy moves to Boston to stay with her spinster aunt. She longs for romance to fill the void left by her parents' death. But when she falls hard for Steven O'Connor, the man who broke an engagement to her sister, Annie is worried. Will he break her heart too when he discovers who she really is?

With heart-pounding romance, intense family drama, and emotional twists and turns, A Love Surrendered is everything Julie Lessman's many fans have been waiting for.
 My Review:
5 Stars ( or more like 10 stars )
What a fantastic book this was to read!!! A Love Surrendered is the third book in Julie Lessman's Winds of Change series and I think it was my favorite in this series. Annie Kennedy just jumped out of the pages and into my heart the minute  I met her. She was so much fun to read about and get to know. It was unique because she had not been in any of the others books so she was brand new to the family. It was also great catching up with the rest of the O'Connor's and learning about their plans and schemes!!!
With this book it is sad to think the end has come to the O'Connor family but the road was so much fun in hearing of all their adventures. Julie ended the book fantastically and I felt sad that it was over but there was still a conclusion to wonder six books that spanned two series and many decades. At least there is one more book to read, a lighter simpler tale of how Marcy and Patrick met all those years ago.
I highly (and even higher than that) recommend Julie's books to everyone who loves a good story filled with drama, tension, romance and wonderful Christian lessons. Though I warn any new reader to Juile, DO NOT read them out of order! Each book builds on the past one and it would just not be right to read them out of order. 
Congrats Julie on another wonderful novel that will remain in my heart and on my bookshelf for years to come.
* I received this book through Revell for the purpose of this review. Thank you Revell!

Saturday, October 13, 2012

When A Heart Stops by Lynette Eason

About the Book:

A killer's deadly game needs new players . . . but someone's about to change the rules

As a medical examiner, Serena Hopkins is used to dealing with death. But that doesn't make it any easier when she's called to the eerie scene of a murder--especially when Serena realizes that she knows the victim. Nearly as unnerving is the presence of FBI agent Dominic Allen, her childhood crush.

As evidence mounts and points to a serial killer with disturbingly familiar methods, Serena and Dominic must work to find a pattern and stop the killings before the murderer strikes again. And when Serena's own life seems at stake, she must decide if the secret she has been keeping has put her next on the killer's hit list. Can she trust Dominic with the truth before it's too late?

My Review:

4 Stars

When A Heart Stops is book 2 in Lynette Eason's Deadly Reunions series. This book picks up where the last book ended and I strongly recommend reading the books in order. In fact it would be easy to be confused if you had not read the first book. While I found the first book to be filled with non stop action and and a complete page turner I did not find that with this book. I did find that the suspense was more chilling, creepy and very intricate and that made me want to finish the book to find out what happens. The only problem I had in the end is that this book ended with another cliff hanger just like the first book. Now to wait more months till the final book comes out and the story can wrap up. This is the type of series that I would much rather read all at once then waiting for each book to come out.

*I received the book from Revell for the purpose of this review. Thank you Revell!

Thursday, October 11, 2012

All Things New by Lynn Austin

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
All Things New
Bethany House Publishers (October 1, 2012)
Lynn Austin


For many years, Lynn Austin nurtured a desire to write but frequent travels and the demands of her growing family postponed her career. When her husband's work took Lynn to Bogota, Colombia, for two years, she used the B.A. she'd earned at Southern Connecticut State University to become a teacher. After returning to the U.S., the Austins moved to Anderson, Indiana, Thunder Bay, Ontario, and later to Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Lynn resigned from teaching to write full-time in 1992. Since then she has published twelve novels. Five of her historical novels, Hidden Places, Candle in the Darkness, Fire by Night, A Proper Pursuit, and Until We Reach Home have won Christy Awards in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2008, and 2009 for excellence in Christian Fiction. Fire by Night was also one of only five inspirational fiction books chosen by Library Journal for their top picks of 2003, and All She Ever Wanted was chosen as one of the five inspirational top picks of 2005. Lynn's novel Hidden Places has been made into a movie for the Hallmark Channel, starring actress Shirley Jones. Ms Jones received a 2006 Emmy Award nomination for her portrayal of Aunt Batty in the film.


In the aftermath of the Civil War, Josephine Weatherly and her mother, Eugenia, struggle to pick up the pieces of their lives when they return to their Virginia plantation. But the bitter realities of life after the war cannot be denied: their home and land are but shells of their previous grandeur; death has claimed her father and brother; and her remaining brother, Daniel, has returned home bitter and broken. The privileged childhood Josephine enjoyed now seems like a long-ago dream. And the God who failed to answer any of her prayers during the war is lost to her as well.

Josephine soon realizes that life is now a matter of daily survival--and recognizes that Lizzie, as one of the few remaining servants, is the one she must rely on to teach her all she needs to know. Josephine's mother, too, vows to rebuild White Oak...but a bitter hatred fuels her.

With skill and emotion, Lynn Austin brings to life the difficult years of the Reconstruction era by interweaving the stories of three women--daughter, mother, and freed slave--in a riveting tale.

If you would like to read the first chapter of All Things New, go HERE.

My Review:

This is the third Lynn Austin book I have read, and I will have to say I have loved them all. Lynn is so talented at writing historical fiction novels that I have come to expect only the best from her. Her books are different than many others historical Christian fiction out there mainly because she really focuses on the the history and the life in the given time period and not the romance. So if you are looking for mainly a romance this book is not for you.

All Things New is set in the south on a plantation just after the Civil War. I really found this to be an interesting setting because I have not really read anything else in this type of setting. The South has lost war, but they have lost so much more. They have lost their lifestyle, their possessions and most importantly their men. While slavery is clearly wrong, just because the slaves were free didn't change the way many thought, some easily accepted the fact and others did not. This was a very hard era for those in the south, both the plantation owners and the freed slaves. I really admired the characters that stood up for the freed salves and accepted that they are real people and can't be treated as slaves anymore. Overall, Lynn Austin did a great job at capturing the time period and the issues the people faced.

*I received this book through CFBA in exchange for my honest review. Thank You!

Unending Devotion by Jody Hedlund + Giveaway

About the Book:

Michigan, 1883
In Her Darkest Hours, Is He the Man She Needs?

Lily Young longs to find her lost sister or will die trying. Heedless of any danger, she searches logging camps and towns, posing as a photographer's assistant. And then she arrives in Harrison, Michigan--and the sights of Connell McCormick.

Connell is determined to increase the fortune of his lumber-baron father and figures as long as he's living an upright life, that's what matters. But when Lily arrives in town she upends his world, forcing him to confront the truth that dangerous men have gained too much power while good men turn a blind eye.

Vexing but persuasive, Lily soon secures Connell's help, drawing them ever closer to each other. Will standing for what's right cost them both everything?

My Review:

4.5 Stars

Unending Devotion is Jody Hedlund's newest book and I just loved it. I found it to be different than her last book A Doctor's Lady. I really found Lily's character to be strong and brave, and a bit stubborn at times, her passion to find her sister and make a change is so strong. It makes me wonder if myself and others I know would have the same courage to do what she did. It is not easy the things she faced and the world her sister lived in.

I highly recommend this book to everyone. It is listed as a historical romance, but personally I think everyone would enjoy it and get something out of it. There is so much true history in the book that it makes the story that much better. It also brings awareness to what life really was like in the 1880's logging industry. Overall, great job Jody and I will be looking forward to your next book.

I received this book from the author and publisher for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

Book Trailer:

Giveaway Info:

Jody has offered to give a copy of the book away to one of my readers. Thank you Jody!

Here is what you need to know to enter:

1. Giveaway ends  October 19th
2. Must leave a comment with your e-mail
3. Must live in the US.

Monday, October 8, 2012

His Love Endures Forever by Beth Wiseman

About the Book:

An unplanned pregnancy. An absent father. Can love really endure all things?

Danielle Kent is anything but Amish. But as destiny would have it, she has fallen in love with an Amish man.

Now she’s 18, pregnant, and hopeful that the child’s Amish father—Matthew Lapp—will do the right thing and marry her. She knows Matthew plans to leave his Colorado settlement for a life in the Englisch world. But that plan never included a baby.

When Matthew walks away from her and their unborn child, she has nowhere to turn. Her unlikely friendship with Levi offers some comfort—yet they have so little in common. This wasn’t the plan she had for her life, and she has never felt so alone. She doesn’t want to be pregnant. Doesn’t want to be Amish. Doesn’t want to trust God.

And yet.

God has plans beyond what her mind can imagine . . . loving plans to show a lost young woman that His love never fails but endures forever.

My Review:

4.5 Stars

What a fantastic conclusions to a great series. I could not wait to read this book, partially because the first two were great and partially because Danielle and Martha are my favorite characters. I couldn't wait to hear Danielle's story and have more encounters with Martha. I got so wrapped up in this story and found myself reading the book in less than a day. It really pulled me from the beginning.

Beth Wiseman does an amazing job at weaving in truth that God's love does endure forever. This is something that many of need to learn, both those that grow up in the faith and those that don't. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Amish fiction, a good story and more.  I will also say this is not your typical Amish fiction, or at least very different from Beverly Lewis's style. It is not so much about the rules, but the people and God's love. While I think you could read this book without reading the first two, there would be so much you would be missing out. So I highly encourage anyone that has interest in this book to read the whole series, you won't be sorry.

* I received this book from for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Short Straw Bride by Karen Witemeyer

About the Book:

Four brothers. Four straws. One bride.

No one steps on Archer land. Not if they value their life. But when Meredith Hayes overhears a plot to burn the Archer brothers off their ranch, a long-standing debt compels her to take the risk.

Years of constant vigilance hardens a man. Yet when Travis Archer comes across a female trespasser with the same vivid blue eyes as the courageous young girl he once aided, he can't bring himself to send her away. And when an act of sacrifice leaves her injured and her reputation in shreds, gratitude and guilt prompt him to attempt to rescue her once again.

Despite the fact that Travis is no longer the gallant youth Meredith once dreamed about, she vows to stand by his side. But will love ever be hers? Or will Travis always see her as merely a short-straw bride?

My Review:
5 Stars

To start off with, doesn't this cover just make you want to run out and get the book! What a beautiful cover that helps set the setting of the book. Just as much as I loved the cover, I loved the book even more. I have read most of Karen's book and they have all been wonderful and different. From page one to the final page I enjoyed this book. The characters are so much fun and very believable. I enjoyed all the adventures they went on and was excited to find out how it all would turn out. 

I highly recommend this book to any one who loves historical romance and any current Karen Witemeyer fans. You won't be disappointed! I know I can't wait for her next release!

* I received this book from the author for the purpose of this review. Thank you Karen!