Friday, December 30, 2011

Daisy Chain by Mary DeMuth

About the book (from

The abrupt disappearance of young Daisy Chance from a small Texas town in 1973 spins three lives out of control—Jed, whose guilt over not protecting his friend Daisy strangles him; Emory Chance, who blames her own choices for her daughter’s demise; and Ouisie Pepper, who is plagued by headaches while pierced by the shattered pieces of a family in crisis. In this first book in the Defiance, Texas Trilogy, fourteen-year-old Jed Pepper has a sickening secret: He’s convinced it’s his fault his best friend Daisy went missing. Jed’s pain sends him on a quest for answers to mysteries woven through the fabric of his own life and the lives of the families of Defiance, Texas. When he finally confronts the terrible truths he’s been denying all his life, Jed must choose between rebellion and love, anger and freedom. Daisy Chain is an achingly beautiful southern coming-of-age story crafted by a bright new literary talent. It offers a haunting yet hopeful backdrop for human depravity and beauty, for terrible secrets and God’s surprising redemption.

My Review:

Daisy Chain is book one of the Texas Defiance Trilogy by Mary DeMuth. This is the second book by Mary DeMuth that I have read, the other is The Muir House and she is an author that I enjoy reading and will look forward to reading more from her in the future. Daisy Chain is the type of book that has a fast pace and keeps you interested in it. Though this is the type of book that when you get to the end you will want to go and get book two because this is a true series and each book does not stand alone on its own well. This is a book filled with real life, it is not a happy go lucky, feel good novel without much depth but if you enjoy dealing with real emotions and situations than this book is for you.

*I received this book from Zondervan for the purpose of the review.

Sisters of the Quilt by Cindy Woodsmall

About the book (from

Can Hannah find refuge, redemption, and a fresh beginning after her world is shattered?

When the Heart Cries
Her life among her Amish community brutally interrupted, seventeen-year-old Hannah Lapp faces questions neither family, nor fiancĂ©, nor even faith can easily answer. The first book in the Sisters of the Quilt series, When the Heart Cries will ignite a broader understanding of others’ beliefs and a God-given strength to deal with pain we all experience.

When the Morning Comes
Rejected by those she loves, Hannah Lapp leaves her Amish community and seeks refuge in the world outside, leaving her family and friends to wrestle with the painful truths that emerge in the wake of her disappearance. As she struggles to find her place in the confusing Englischer world, her community deals with the turbulent aftermath of her departure.

When the Soul Mends
Hoping to help her sister, Hannah Lapp reluctantly returns to the Old Order Amish community she fled in disgrace more than two years earlier. When hidden truths are revealed about her former fiancé, she must choose whether to return to the Plain life or to the Englischer man who adores her in this captivating conclusion to the Sisters of the Quilt series.

This three-in-one collection includes the entirety of the best-selling Sisters of the Quilt trilogy now at a new low price!

My Review:

This trilogy was very enjoyable to read. I really enjoyed being able to read all three books in a row. The only main downside is that the book is rather large to hold but it is such a good value getting them this way. The books are easy to read and the story flows well. The books captured my attention from the very beginning and held it to the end. To me the definition of a good book is one that grabs me from page one and doesn't get slow and boring. These books are not your typical Amish fiction and I found the characters to have more depth to them then others. Also, there is alot more interaction with Englischers and the world outside of the Amish community.

If you are looking for a good trilogy to keep you reading and reading and enjoy books set in the Amish community then this book is for you.

*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review

Thursday, December 29, 2011

My Top Ten Books for 2011

I thought I would share my top 10 books I have read this year.

10. A Sound Amoung Tree by Susan Meissner

9. The Muir House by Mary Demuth

8. Tour De Force by Elizabeth White

7. Composing Amelia by Alison Strobel

6. The Doctor's Lady by Jody Hedlund

5. House of Secrets by Tracie Peterson

4. Wonderland Creek by Lynn Austin

3. The Lady of Bolton Hill by Elizabeth Camden

2. The Maid of Fairbourne Hall by Julie Klassen

....and my number 1 book of the 2011 is.......

A Passion Must Pure by Julie Lessman

*Most books have reviews posted, just look in the archives!

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

The Maid of Fairbourne Hall by Julia Klassen

What would it be like to go from having your own maids and servants to being a maid? What about if you were in service to two brothers both of which were former suitors? What if you were keeping your identity a secret?

This and more is what Miss Margaret Macy will face in Julie Klassen's newest book The Maid of Fairbourne Hall. Miss Macy finds herself needing to escape from her step fathers demand to marry his nephew and knows if she can make it for one year she will receive a rather large inheritance from her great aunt. The twist in her plan was she never planned to end up a maid in Fairborne Hall.

I loved this book so much that I read it in less than 3 days because I could not put it down. I have read two other books by Julie Klassen (The Apothecary's Daughter and The Girl in the Gatehouse) and this onw by far is my favorite so far. I loved learning about what it was like to be a servent back in 19th century English manor and had fun trying to guess when people would find out who she really was.

This book is full of suspense, adventure, danger and even a little romance this book has something for everyone and will not disappoint. So, if you are new to Julie's books or have read them all make sure you add this excellent novel to your collection.

About the Author (from

Julie Klassen loves all things Jane--Jane Eyre and Jane Austen. A graduate of the University of Illinois, Julie worked in publishing for sixteen years and now writes full time. She has won the Christy Award: Historical Romance for The Silent Governess (2010) and The Girl in the Gatehouse (2011) which also won the 2010 Midwest Book Award for Genre Fiction. Julie and her husband have two sons and live in a suburb of St. Paul, Minnesota. For more information, visit

*I received this book from the author and Bethany House publisher in exchange for my honest review, Thank you Julie and Bethany House!

Saturday, December 17, 2011

Lady of Bolton Hill by Elizabeth Camden

Let me begin, that I love the cover of this book. That alone would make me want to read this book. Then when I read the back of the book it made me even want to read it more. The great thing is that once I started this book I couldn't put it down, it was that good. Lady of Bolton Hill is Elizabeth Camden's debut book and you would think she is a seasoned author with this book, it really is that good. I will be looking forward to reading her second book, The Rose on Winslow Street which comes out in January 2012. Good thing I do not have to wait long!

Clara Endicott has just returned to her Baltimore home after many years in London. While in London she developed into fine journalist defending the poor and seeking reform. Now that she is back home she is just as determined to defend those that need it most. It is also when she is reunited with her childhood best friend, Daniel Tremain. The only problem is Daniel has a grudge he just won't let go of and this grudge has the potential to both him and Clara in danger. Clara believes that Daniel needs God's grace and forgiveness to be able to move forward. Will Daniel be able to accept God's grace?

This is a great book, full of romance and adventure, you won't regret reading it. So if you are in the mood for a good book that will keep you turning pages well into the middle of the night than this is the book for you. Great job Elizabeth Camden!

*I received this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.

She Makes It Look Easy by Mary Beth Whalen

She Makes it Look Easy is not your typical christian fiction book. It deals with real issues and something that every woman can relate to one point or another. If you have ever thought that the grass is greener on the other side then you will relate to this book.

Ariel moves into the neighbor hood of her dream and almost shares a backyard with the neighborhood's queen bee, Justine. Justine takes Ariel under her wing to show her how to have the perfect life. Though is Justine just using Ariel to try to make herself happier or does she truly love the friendship that is developing. Ariel sees Justine as the example of a perfect life (clean house, every day planned and organized and such). As things start coming to light about Justine, Ariel starts wondering if Justine was just using her and that she doesn't have it easy at all.

I found this book to be a quick read, at 309 pages, I finished it just under a day. It is easy to read and the story flows well. While I would not call it a top 10 book that I would re-read over and over, I found it enjoyable and glad I read it. I was not a waste of time by any other means. I am excited to read Mary Beth's first book, The Mailbox, which is a completely different type of story, and other books she writes in the future. Good job on your second book Mary Beth!!!!

* I received this book from the author and the publisher, David C. Cook, in exchange for my honest review.

Monday, December 12, 2011

Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey

Cover: Wait No More

This book is about one family's journey as they adopt four children from the United States Foster care system. It is a journey of both joys and challenges, it is a journey that many will never take but those that do are extremely blessed by God. Adoption is something that should not be taken lightly and it will change your life in every aspect but it is truly a blessing for both the family and children. This book gives the reader an honest look at the foster care system as well as the process and life after all, and it is not easy but with God by their side they made it through!

I enjoyed reading this book and found it encouraging hearing their story. I had read book about adoptions over seas but never from our own foster care system and it was nice being able to see another side of adoption. The United States has so many children that need a home and someone to love and just not enough people out there willing to be that person. I would recommend this book to anyone that wants a look into our foster care system, who would like to adopt or those who need encouragement during their adoption journey.

*This book was provided to my by Tyndale in exchange for my honest review!

Friday, December 9, 2011

The Christmas Singing by Cindy Woodsmall

About This Book (from

After Gideon coldly broke her heart, can the warmth of the season revive Mattie’s hopes?

Mattie thought her childhood sweetheart adored her until he abruptly ended their engagement on Christmas Eve.

Three years later, will learning the truth behind his rejection restore her Christmas joy – or open the door to even deeper heartbreak?

Spend Christmas with the Amish in this story of love, romance, heartache, and restoration.

To find out more about this book check out the trailer found here


Read an excerpt of the book here

Interest enough to buy this book for you or a someone else, check out this great offer:

You can recieve 30% off and free shipping on The Christmas Singing (and any other title) when you use promo code CHRISTMAS11 at checkout on This coupon expries on Dec, 2o, 2011.

Tuesday, December 6, 2011


About the Book (provided by

Four friends devise a plan to turn Smitten, Vermont, into the country's premier romantic getaway-and each finds her own true love along the way.

With Smitten Lumber closing, residents wonder if their town can stay afloat. Then four friends and local business owners-Natalie, Julia, Shelby, and Reese--decide the town is worth saving. How will they do it? They'll turn Smitten into a honeymoon destination!

As Natalie, Julia, Shelby, and Reese work to save the town, each discovers romance in her own life. Meanwhile, the faith of a little child reminds the whole town what it means to have real faith in the God who is the always and forever Love.

Discover a novel written by four of Christian fiction's most popular romance novelists- friends in real life who've drawn an amazing story of four friends! Includes a Reading Group Guide as well as "Conversation over Coffee with the Authors".

My Review:

What a fun book to read! Prior to this book I had only read books from Colleen Coble, whom I really enjoy to read, but found all the authors to be great and held up there portion of the story well. I like how the book is divided into four short stories that are all connected and one starts off where the next ended. Even though the book looks long at 432 pages it is easily read in a day because it really draws you in and make you never want to stop. I would recommend this book to anyone out there that has read any of the authors in the past or who enjoy a good romance set in a beautiful town in Vermont!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program.