Sunday, July 29, 2012

The Choice by Robert Whitlow

About the Book:

One Young Woman. Two Very Different Roads.

The Choice will Change Everything.

Even as a pregnant, unwed teen in 1974, Sandy Lincoln wanted to do the right thing. But when an ancient woman approached her in a convenience store with a mysterious prophecy and a warning, doing the right thing became even more unclear. She made the best choice she could. But now, thirty-four years later, another pregnant, unwed teen has come into her life, and Sandy’s long-ago decision has come back to haunt her. The stakes rise quickly, leaving Sandy with split seconds to choose once more. But will her spur-of-the-moment decision bring life . . . or death?

My Review:

5 stars

WOW, what an amazing and powerful book. Robert Whitlow hit the what to about about a teen pregnancy so great and portrayed adoption and abortion without being preachy. In the end he really makes you think and personally he showed a beautiful side to adoption which does not always happen. I really enjoyed the character of Sandy in the book and really felt for her and she had to make one of the hardest decisions of her life. A decision that while great, still brings consequences and is something you never entirely get over. Overall I would recommend this book to everyone since it is such a powerful story that makes you think but is also enjoyable to read at the same time. :)

* I received this book through for the purpose of this review.

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Veil of Pearls by MaryLu Tyndall

Be swept away by a tale of love, hope, danger and so much more with MaryLu Tyndall's newest book, Veil of Pearls.

Adalia Winston has landed in Charleston, SC in 1811 as not only an immigrant but a runaway slave from Barbados. She has lost everything in her life and comes to America hoping for a future and a life of freedom. Not long after arriving she finds herself employed by a local doctor because of her knowledge of herbal remedies.

Morgan Rutherford, a prominent young man, eyes the young lady and is instantly intrigued and does all he can to get to know her and involve her in her life. Adalia quickly learns that living in his world is a lot harder than she ever imagined and that her past may put them both in trouble. Her heritage and view of slavery may just be the wedge that drives them apart, unless Morgan learns to accept her as she is and turn his back on the family fortune. What will he do and what will happen to Adalia when she is thrown into a very dangerous situation?

I loved this book! I had never read anything from MaryLu Tyndall before but now I know I have to read more of her books.  Everything about this book was fun and entertaining. The twists, the danger, the love! I found my self easily absorbed into the book and it did not take me long to finish at all. I loved Adalia, the courage she demonstrated and the fact that she stuck to what she believed is such a great example for us all. I would highly recommend this book to anyone loving a good historical romance. Way to go MaryLu and 5 Stars to this excellent book!

* I received this book through the publisher and Radiant Lit for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

Monday, July 23, 2012

The First Gardener by Denise Hildreth Jones

About the book:

Jeremiah Williams has been tending the gardens of the Tennessee governor’s mansion for over twenty-five years. And like most first families who have come and gone, this one has stolen his heart.
Mackenzie and her husband, Governor Gray London, have struggled for ten years to have a child and are now enjoying a sweet season of life—anticipating the coming reelection and sending their precious daughter, Maddie, off to kindergarten—when a tragedy tears their world apart. As the entire state mourns, Mackenzie falls into a grief that threatens to swallow her whole.
Though his heart is also broken, Jeremiah realizes that his gift of gardening is about far more than pulling weeds and planting flowers. It’s about tending hearts as well. As he uses the tools that have been placed in his hands, he gently begins to cultivate the hard soil of Mackenzie’s heart, hoping to help her realize what it took him years to discover.
A Southern tale of loss, love, and living, The First Gardner reminds us that all of life is a gift, but our heart is the most valuable gift of all.

My Review:

4.5 Stars

Wow, what an emotional book. I have read a few of Denise's books and she is typical a very deep and emotional book but this book was just way more emotional than the others. I do not want to go into to many details and ruin the plot but I will warn anyone who picks the book up that it is super sad but does have a happy ending. There are many lessons Mack and Gray learn and many are ones that we need to learn to. I loved the realness of the characters and could feel there pain. Even though there were times I would get so mad at Mack for the way she was acting I could feel for her and wanted her to have everything she hoped and dreamed for. Over all this is a great book, but not one for everyone.

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Almost Amish by Kathryn Cushman

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Almost Amish
Bethany House Publishers (July 1, 2012)
Kathryn Cushman


Kathryn Cushman is a graduate of Samford University with a degree in pharmacy, but all her life she knew that she wanted to write a novel “some day”. For her, “some day” came in 2003, when she started writing and never looked back.

Her first two manuscripts remain firmly ensconced in the back of her closet (the dust bunnies tell her they really are terrific!). Her third attempt became her first published novel.

A Promise to Remember and Leaving Yesterday were both finalists for the American Christian Fiction Writers Carol Award, and Waiting for Daybreak was a finalist in Women’s Fiction for the Inspirational Reader’s Choice Award.

On the homefront, she has been married to the wonderful and handsome Lee for nearly twenty-five years now, and their two daughters are currently braving the worlds of high school and college.

They’ve lived in Santa Barbara for over twenty years. It’s a beautiful place and Kathryn feel blessed to be there (although a seventy degree Christmas still leaves her dreaming of a white one—or at least a colder one!)

When she's not writing or reading or braving seventy degree holidays, you’ll find her trying her best to keep up with her daughters in their various theater, softball, dance, and filled-with-activity lives.


Proving the Simple Life Isn't So Simple After All

Overcommitted and overwhelmed, Julie Charlton is at the breaking point. She knows she should feel blessed as a mother and wife--but she just feels exhausted. And then, the miraculous happens. Her sister-in-law Susan, a Martha Stewart-in-training, lands the chance to participate in a reality TV series about trying to live like the Amish and needs another family to join her. It's just the break Julie needs.

But the summer adventure in simple living soon proves anything but simple. With the camera watching every move, Susan's drive for perfection feels a lot like what they left behind, while Julie suddenly finds herself needing to stand up for slowing down. Whether it's cooking, cleaning, or dressing differently, each new Amish challenge raises new complications...and soon each woman learns unexpected lessons about herself and her family.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Almost Amish, go HERE.

My review:

5 Stars

I loved this book! As soon as I knew Kathryn Cushman had a new book coming out I just knew I was going to have to read it. I have read every one of her books and loved them all. They are all different and present there own issues and drama. This book is a twist on an Amish story in the sense that a modern day extended family gets to try living similar to the Amish for a reality TV show. In this story the characters get to learn what hard work really is and they start to reevaluate what they think is important. They start to realize that simpler may just be better. I loved the message of the book because it challenges us to think about how complex our lives are and how over stimulated we really are. I highly recommend this book to everyone!

* I received this book through CFBA for the purpose of this review.

Friday, July 13, 2012

The Deposit Slip by Todd M. Johnson

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
The Deposit Slip
Bethany House Publishers (July 1, 2012)
Todd M. Johnson


Todd M. Johnson has practiced as an attorney for over 30 years,
specializing as a trial lawyer.

A graduate of Princeton University and the University of Minnesota
Law School, he also taught for two years as adjunct professor of
International Law and served as a US diplomat in Hong Kong.

The Deposit Slip is his debut novel. He lives outside Minneapolis,
Minnesota, with his wife Cathy, and children Ian and Libby.


$10,000,000 Is Missing.

Erin Larson is running out of options. In the wake of her father's death, she found a slim piece of paper--a deposit slip--with an unbelievable amount on it. Only the bank claims they have no record of the money, and trying to hire a lawyer has brought only intimidation and threats. Erin's last chance is Jared Neaton.

How Far Will One Lawyer Go to Find the Money?

When Jared wearied of the shady ethics of his big law firm and started his own, he never expected the wheels to fly off so quickly. One big loss has pushed him to the brink, and it's all he can do to scrape by.

And How Far Will Someone Go to Stop Him?

He's not sure if Erin's case is worth the risk, but if the money is real, all his problems could vanish. When digging deeper unleashes something far more dangerous than just threats, both Jared and Erin must decide the cost they're willing to pay to discover the truth.

If you would like to read the first chapter of The Deposit Slip, go HERE.

My Review:

4 Stars 

Todd M. Johnson writes like a seasoned author, it was hard to believe this is his debut novel. The Deposit Slip is a gripping suspense/legal thriller that pulled me in from the very first pages. It left me so many questions that I could not wait to find the answers to. This was the great kind of suspense books because it was hard to figure out till the end, its not fun to guess the ending by the middle of the book. This book has so much to offer everyone with its fast paced story and short chapters. I am looking forward to more books from Todd M. Johnson in the future.

*I received this book through CFBA for the purpose of this review.

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Tidewater Inn by Colleen Coble

About the Book:

Welcome to Hope Beach

Where the sea breeze is fresh, sun sparkles on sand . . . and trouble appears with the force of a hurricane.

Inheriting a beautiful old hotel on the seaward shore of Hope Island could be a dream come true for Libby. The inn cries out for her restorer’s talent and love of history. She’s delighted to learn of family she never knew she had. And the handsome Coast Guard lieutenant she’s met there on the island could definitely be the man of her dreams.

But Libby soon realizes that only way she can afford the upkeep on the inn is to sell it to developers who are stalking the island. The father who willed her the inn has died before she could meet him, and her newfound brothers and sisters are convinced she’s there to steal their birthright. Worst of all, her best friend and business partner has been kidnapped before her eyes, Libby’s under suspicion for the crime, and her handsome lieutenant clearly doubts her innocence.

Libby’s dream-come-true is becoming a nightmare. Can she find her friend and establish her innocence? Must she sell Tidewater Inn and lose her family again? Or can she find a home for her heart on the beautiful shores of Hope Island?

My Review:

4 Stars

Beach, mystery, secluded island, romance and so much more is found in Colleen Coble's newest book, Tidewater Inn. This book is the first book in her new Hope Beach series and I am now anxiously waiting for the next one to be released.  I loved the setting of this book and the cover of the book helps set it too. I could picture the location and the super super small town that exists. It sounds like such a peaceful and relaxing place. All the characters in this book were fun to read about and came alive on the pages. I really enjoyed the mystery portion and was hard to figure out what was going to happen next which is great. Overall this is a great book for everyone and would make a great beach read.

*I received this book through for the purpose of this review.

Monday, July 9, 2012

The Atonement Child by Francine Rivers

About the Book:

Dynah Carey knew where her life was headed. Engaged to a wonderful man, the daughter of doting parents, a faithful child of God, she has it all. Then the unthinkable happens: Dynah’s perfect life is irrevocably changed by a rape that results in an unwanted pregnancy. Her family is torn apart and her seemingly rock-solid faith is pushed to the limits as she faces the most momentous choice of her life: to embrace or to end the life within her. This is ultimately a tale of three women, as Dynah’s plight forces both her mother and her grandmother to face the choices they made. Written with balance and compassion, The Atonement Child brings a new perspective to the most controversial topic of our times.

My Review:

5 Stars

What a thought provoking story! This is a book everyone should read since it really makes you think about the issues of abortions. Francine Rivers does a stellar job at highlight the issue and showing the many negative side effects of it. This is so not a light book but full of depth and emotion. I loved Dynah Carey and her determination to stay true to her beliefs no matter the pressure around her. The situation she was put in was so hard and I couldn't imagine being in it but at the same time God can bring good out of all. 

Friday, July 6, 2012

Hope Springs by Kim Cash Tate

About the Book:

Hope Springs is the epitome of small-town life—a place filled with quiet streets where families have been friends for generations, a place where not a lot changes . . . until now.
Janelle Evans hasn’t gone back to Hope Springs for family reunions since losing her husband. But when she arrives for Christmas and learns that her grandmother is gravely ill, she decides to extend the stay. It isn’t long before she runs into her first love, and feelings that have been dormant for more than a decade are reawakened.

Becca Anderson is finally on the trajectory she’s longed for. Having been in the ministry trenches for years, she’s been recruited as the newest speaker of a large Christian women’s conference. But her husband feels called to become the pastor of his late father’s church in Hope Springs. Will small-town living affect her big ministry dreams?

Stephanie London is married to a doctor in St. Louis and living an ideal life. When her cousin Janelle volunteers to stay in Hope Springs and care for their grandmother, she feels compelled to do the same. It’s a decision that will forever change her.

As these women come together, they soon recognize that healing is needed in their hearts, their families, and their churches that have long been divided along racial lines. God's plan for them in Hope Springs—and for Hope Springs itself—is bigger than they ever imagined.

My Review:

If you have read Kim Cash Tate's first books, Faithful and Cherished, you will find a recognition of a few of the characters which makes it fun revisiting them. Though don't be alarmed you can read this book on its own with out knowing what happened in the previous books. I really enjoyed this book and I think each of her books get better and better. I love the large cast of characters and Kim does a great job at weaving there stories together and giving enough attention to each of them. The characters deal with a lot of issues and have to rely on God to get them through and help direct them in where they need to be. This is a great book that many women would enjoy. It is not for those that only want to read romance since it is more of a women's fiction book centered around issues and drama. Great job Kim on another fine release.

* I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Group for the purpose of this review.

Celebrate the release of Hope Springs with Kim Cash Tate by coming to her Author Chat Party on Facebook.

Find out what readers are saying here.

Grab your copy of Hope Springs and join me for an Author Chat Party on July 10th at 8:00 PM EST (that's 7:00 Central, 6:00 MST, & 5:00 PST)!

During the evening Kim will be sharing the story behind her new book, posting book club questions, testing your trivia skills, and of course, there will be plenty of chatting and fun giveaways - books, gift certificates and (I'm so excited about this) - a Kindle Fire!

But, wait there's more – she’ll also be giving you a sneak peak of her next book too!

RSVP today and then come back on the 10th ... and bring your friends!

Sunday, July 1, 2012

Bees in the Butterfly Garden by Maureen Lang

About the Book:

Raised in an exclusive boarding school among Fifth Avenue’s finest, Meg Davenport has all she’s ever needed . . . but none of the things she’s wanted most, like family, or dreams of a future that includes anything other than finding a suitable match. So when her distant father dies, she seizes the chance to throw etiquette aside and do as she pleases. Especially when she learns that John Davenport wasn’t the wealthy businessman she thought, but one of the Gilded Age’s most talented thieves.

Poised to lead those loyal to Meg’s father, Ian Maguire knows the last thing his mentor would have wanted is for his beloved daughter to follow in his footsteps. Yet Meg is determined, and her connections to one of New York’s wealthiest families could help Ian pull off his biggest heist yet. But are they both in over their heads? And in trying to gain everything, will they end up losing it all?

My Review: 

4.5 Stars

What a fun book this was to read! I loved every page of it. Maureen Lang wrote a great book filled with tension, danger, romance, faith, friendship and suspense. Bees in the Butterfly Garden is book 1 in Marueen's new Gilded Legacy series and I am so excited to see what will come next. I also want to note that the cover for this book is beautiful. I think it would make anyone want to buy the book with out reading the back cover. 

In this book, I really loved all the characters and there were so many different types of people that it made the book very fun and interesting to read. It is hard to say much about the different characters without giving the story away, so I won't but I will say that anyone who loves historical romance will want to read this book. This was a book that was well worth taking the time to read, great job Maureen on this excellent book.

* I received this book through the Tyndale Blog Network for the purpose of this review.